Oatmeal Head

I don’t think I’ve ever met a bowl of oatmeal I didn’t like. Really, I mean it. Whether it’s my typical morning hodge podge bowl, my Abuela’s oats, or a “Papa Bear” from Sara Beth’s in New York, I will devour it all. I typically don’t go the steel cut oats route, as I can’t justify to myself spending 30 minutes on cooking a bowl of oatmeal on a week day, but weekends are special occasions, right?

This morning I made a batch of steel cut oats (365 Organic from Whole Foods), and added a sliced banana to the saucepan during the last 5ish minutes on the stove. For the most part, I typically just follow the directions on the back of the canister, which go a little bit like this: Bring  1& 1/2 cups water to a boil. When boiling, stir in 1/4 cups steel cut oats and reduce heat to medium-low. Let the oats simmer for 25-30 minutes, stirring occasionally, until tender. (Use more water if you like thin oats, less water for thicker oatmeal)   I always like to add a little somethin’ somethin’ at the end (think: honey, granola, cinnamon, peanut butter, splash of almond milk, raisins, nuts etc. etc.)

 Call me crazy but I’ve gotta say steel cut oats deserve a good ole French “Bon Appetit”

4 thoughts on “Oatmeal Head

  1. Pingback: Overnight Oats Round 1 | eatsandfastfeets

  2. Pingback: Heavy Legs = Slow Mal and WIAW | eatsandfastfeets

  3. Pingback: Berry Baked Oatmeal | eatsandfastfeets

Leave a Reply

