Happy Mother’s Day!

Happy Mother’s day to all the fantastic mamas out there! I had a wonderful day celebrating mine, which included plenty of love and yummy food.

After a delicious omelet breakfast and a morning dog walk, we all went to Mass to start off our Mother’s Day. As soon as we got home from Mass, I began working on my contributions to Mother’s Day Family Dinner. Last week over dinner at Bonefish Grill, my cousins and I made plans to be in charge of the family meal this weekend so our mamas wouldn’t have to worry. Since berries are in-season, and I’m pretty sure that Plant City is one of the strawberry capitals of the world, I decided to base both the salad and dessert on some larger-than-life strawberries I found.  

These things were seriously huge and luscious. The salad went a little bit like this:

Arugula, Walnut and Strawberry Salad

Ingredients:

For Dressing:
3 tablespoons sherry vinegar
1 packet Truvia sweetener
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon canola oil
1/4 teaspoon salt
For Salad:
2 cups arugula leaves
2 cups spring mix
1 pint fresh strawberries, washed and diced
1/2 cup goat cheese
1/2 cup walnuts
2 large carrots, diced
Whisk together the sherry vinegar, Truvia sweetener, olive oil, canola oil and salt.
Toss the arugula leaves and spring mix in the dressing. Add the strawberries, walnuts, goat cheese and carrots. Serve immediately
I really hope this picture clearly explains how HUGE these berries are!
salad
The salad paired perfectly with the baked ziti with squash, zucchini and onion that my cousins made. For dessert, I kept with my strawberry theme and created strawberry shortcakes for everyone. I found this recipe on Food Network and basically followed it verbatim. The final product was melt-in-your-mouth delicious, but the picture makes it look like a hot mess. (Literally, it was hot and messy).
stoveThe hot strawberries over the biscuits really stole the show
biscuitsThe shortcake recipe called for cranberry juice in the dough mixture – I thought this was odd but it ended up being great!
shortcakceVoila!

I hope you all had a relaxing weekend, and wish everyone a Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

