Stay-cation

Today marks day one of mine and Derek’s stay-cation. WHOOOO HOOOO! He took the week off this week to coincide with my break from school, and we plan to make the most of our time off! We began our morning with a 2.5 mile run around the golf course before heading inside the gym. I love that the course is closed on Mondays and we can make use of the beautiful greens – I’m not a golfer, unless we’re talking putt putt, so this is basically the only time I’m luckily enough to be on the course.

When we got in the gym I hopped on the treadmill for another 2.5 miles to make today a 5 miler day. I spent my treadmill time listening to JT and had trouble refraining from breaking into a dance/run. I love Justin’s old stuff as much as his new, and my fav jam right now is Like I Love You (circa 2002). I wasn’t able to get a run in on Mother’s Day, so I’m glad I was able to get my legs moving today!

We had an early lunch at Crisper’s with my entire family. My niece, Carlie, is driving out to L.A. to become famous, (I’m serious.. Check out her website here – she is supremely talented), and she and my sister stopped in Tampa on their trek out west.

I nommed on Crisper’s Signature Summer Salad. It’s basically everything I love in a salad (berries, mandarin oranges, gorgonzola crumbles, onions, you get the picture) and I must go back  and get it again.  We spent the afternoon by the pool with Megan and Ben, and our friend Kasey came by to say hi to the sweet pups we’ve been dog sitting. She’s a crazy dog-lover like me, and just couldn’t resist these guys.I don’t think I’ve shown a picture of these perfect furry friends, so here they are!

photo-21

I’m sad the gig is over, and I hope they tell their mom I was a great sitter, because I definitely want to spend more time with these guys !

Dinner came together in a flash tonight – I like to have tacos at least once a week, so we either have a Mexican Monday or a Taco Tuesday. Today was Mexican Monday! ÓLE!  I whipped up some lime shrimp tacos for my parents and I, and it went a lil’ somethin’ like this:

Lime Shrimp Tacos

Ingredients

3/4 lb. shrimp

1 white onion

1 red pepper

1 yellow pepper

1 medium chopped tomato

shredded lettuce

1 clove garlic

Juice from 1 lime

2 tbsp olive oil

pinch of salt and pepper

Tortillas

Directions:

Combine olive oil, lime juice, salt and pepper in a bowl. Mix in shrimp and let marinate for 30 minutes. Dice peppers, onions, and garlic and transfer to a aluminum foil-lined grill pan. After the shrimp have marinated, add shrimp to the grill pan, and grill on high for 15-20 minutes, or until vegatables and shrimp are cooked through.

Serve with shredded lettuce, chopped tomato and warm tortillas.

shrimp

image-15Hope y’all had a marvelous Monday!

Leave a Reply

