So you want to start running..

WHAT A GREAT IDEA!!!!! The fact that you have a desire to run is huge in and of itself. I was born the anti-runner and it took me years (20, to be exact. I won’t count the first 2 years of life where I was still learning to walk) to develop a real desire to run. It’s crucial not to think of running as something you have to do, but instead, something you really want to do.

photo-6.jpg

One of the most important factors to remember is that running probably won’t be easy when you first start out – but I promise it gets easier as each week passes (practice makes perfect, right?). Soon after you begin training yourself, you will certainly be impressed by how much faster and farther you are able to run than when you first started. Below are some pointers to get you going:

  • Start off with a distance that doesn’t seem daunting to you – 2 miles is a good place to start.
  • Invest in a good pair of running shoes – your feet will thank you in the end.
  • Don’t worry if you can’t run the entire distance without alternating with walking breaks. Allowing yourself to walk when you truly need it will make the workout more enjoyable, and will allow you to go a longer distance in the end.
  • Don’t worry about speed – whether you run an 8 minute mile or a 12 minute mile, it’s ok. Just get out there and run!
  • If you are going to run outdoors, find an enjoyable route – one with shade and a nice view will make the run more fun!
  • Find a running buddy if you’re concerned that you may not stay committed to your training. It’s harder to cancel on someone else than it is to cancel on yourself.
  • Sign up for a race to stay motivated and on the right training track

Keeping a positive attitude about your running and being proud of yourself for the progress you make will make your training more enjoyable! Below is a 6 week training plan geared to help you become a runner. Most of the plan comes from Fitness Magazine, with a few tweaks here and there.

beginning runners

I hope my advice can help bring out the runner deep inside of you!

3 thoughts on “So you want to start running..

  1. Pingback: The Art Of Running | My Takes

  2. Mallory,

    Lovin’ the blog…. Lucy and I just downloaded the app couch potato to 5k. I am seriously an anti-runner so we shall see how this works out…

    Quick question: What shoes do you recommend/Which ones did you end up buying? My knees are already starting to hurt and I’m thinking maybe it has to do w/ my shoes? IDK. Anyways, hope to see you Monday for the Bachelorette! We’ve missed ya!

    Xo,
    Leo

    • Hey, Leo! I ended up buying the Asics Gel Cumulus 15 and they’re great so far! I like them a lot better than the Nikes I was wearing, and I’ve always been a Nike wearer! I feel like they have more support and cushion.. I’ve had people tell me they really enjoy running in Mizunos and Brooks, too!

      I also hated running when I first started.. I couldn’t run for 2 minutes without planning to jump out of the 3rd story window of the indoor track at the Leach. I promise it gets better!! Thanks for reading the ramblings of my blog 🙂 See you Monday!

Leave a Reply

