Homemade Tortilla Chips + Mango Salsa

Howdy, Y’all! Happy Memorial Day to everyone! I hope you all enjoyed this holiday and took time to be grateful for all the service men and women who’ve given their lives for our country. As a daughter of a Navy Veteran (and sister of a navy vet, niece of a marine vet and granddaughter of an army vet), I’m taking a little extra time today to count my blessings and be grateful that I live in the U.S.A.

Before I share some festive recipes with you, I’ll recap you on the last couple of days. This long weekend was a wonderful one spent with family and friends. Derek and I managed a 3.1 mile outdoor run on Sunday in between spending the afternoon by the pool and having a cook out with friends.. I didn’t snap a pic of my burger, but Derek told me his was blog-worthy and that it should be posted.

photo (21)

I think he was right. These burgers were delicious, thanks to Sara and Ben!

We got to spend some more time poolside on Monday (after lathering on much SPF of course) with my family and my nephew, Parker. I passed the time reading Tina Fey’s “Bossypants”, while trying to fend off tidal waves caused by cannon balls. I personally think Tina Fey is a comical genius, and I’m enjoying this book just as much as I enjoyed Mindy Kaling’s “Is Everyone Hanging Out With Me? And Other Concerns” and Chelsea Handler’s “Are You There,Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea”. I love a book that constantly makes me laugh out loud.

My workout on Monday was a bit all over the place. It started with a 1M walk and then a 1M run with Samdog Millionaire. After he was worn out, Derek and I headed to the gym and I hopped on the treadmill because I couldn’t think of anything else to do. That lasted all of about 1 mile and I switched to the bike for 3 miles. To finish things off, I did the following leg workout two times through

  • 50 calf raises
  • 15 dead lifts (w/ two 10 lb weights)
  • 20 walking lunges (w/ two 10 lb weights)
  • 15 squat/rows (w/ two 10 lb weights)

With the leg work, biking, and running, I have a good feeling I will wake up not wanting to walk tomorrow!

Now on to the good stuff!

While I do try to maintain a healthy lifestyle most of the time, those of you who know me well know that my favorite food group is snacks. I LOVE crackers, chips, cheese (a charcuterie spread when I’m feeling extra fancy).. If it’s salty and it’s got a crunch to it, sign me up. In the name of my love for snack foods, I tried my hand at some homemade tortilla chips!

These chips were super tasty and enjoyed by all members of mi familia.

Here’s my recipe for these finger lickin’ chips:

Homemade Tortilla Chips

Ingredients:

12 Corn Tortillas (or flour tortillas if you prefer a more baked taste)

2 Tbsp Canola Oil

2 Tbsp Chili Powder

A pinch each of salt, pepper and cayenne

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Stack up the corn tortillas – using a pizza slicer, cut the tortillas into 6 wedges each (cut it like you would a pizza – you should have 72 tortilla triangles at this point).

Toss the tortilla triangles in a bowl with the canola oil, and all of the spices. Make sure to coat each wedge.

Spread the wedges on 2 baking sheets. Bake for 20-25 minutes, shuffling the chips around periodically, until golden and CRISPY! Enjoy with salsa, pico de gallo, queso or guacamole!

(Note: try your batches out with different spices, such as sea salt and pepper, lime, garlic and salt, cinnamon and sugar etc.)

If you’re going to have chips, you must have something to dip them in, right? Today I made a Mango Salsa to bring to a Bachelorette-watching get together. I think (hope!) everyone enjoyed this spin on salsa.

vegetables

Mango Salsa

Ingredients:

6 plum tomatoes

1/2 of a large red onion, diced

2 tbsp fresh chopped cilantro

1 clove minced garlic

2 tbsp fresh lime juice

1/2 of a mango, diced

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl. Transfer to tupperware and chill up to 12 hrs. Serve with chips or vegetables.

photo-38mango salsa

If you make these and serve at a party, I think I should be invited to said party 😉 .

Does anyone have any fun plans this week? I know I’m looking forward to a 4-day work week!

4 thoughts on “Homemade Tortilla Chips + Mango Salsa

  1. Pingback: Heavy Legs = Slow Mal and WIAW | eatsandfastfeets

  2. Pingback: Blackened Tilapia with Cilantro Aioli + Mango Salsa, and My Envy-Worthy Plans | eatsandfastfeets

  3. Pingback: Seven Ways To Make September Sensational | eatsandfastfeets

  4. Pingback: Top 13 Recipes of 2013 | eatsandfastfeets

Leave a Reply

