Heavy Legs = Slow Mal and WIAW

Good Afternoon, friends! At this point, we are more than half-way through the work week and I couldn’t be happier. I started my day off with a large cup of coffee and some tasty steel-cut oats. I also added a spoonful of PB for some added flavor.. I’m fancy, huh 😉 ?

I’m going to be honest with you all – after breakfast this morning, my legs just weren’t feelin’ a run day. Soreness from biking, running, my leg work out and kickball has officially kicked in. BUT, I committed to participate in the Runner’s World Summer Run Streak, so I knew I’d have to get push through my 3000 lb. lead legs and move. I participated in the run streak last summer, and was so excited when I saw on Runner’s World’s Twitter feed that it was that time again. The streak calls for runners to run at least 1 mile (preferably more) every day from Memorial Day until July 4th. Since I felt less than 100%, I checked day 3 off with a 2.5 mile jog. I followed the jog up with the following arm workout

may28 arm workout

After showering and packing food/snacks for the day, I headed out the door for my long day on campus. With work and class today, I’ll be here for a whopping 10 hours. There aren’t many tasty/healthy food options on campus, and I don’t have access to a microwave, so I’m all set up for a heavy snacking day. This should be a funny day for a first WIAW (what I ate Wednesday), right?

almonds

Snack 1: Almonds (I ate about 10 before I snapped a pic!)

pita chips

Snack 2: laughing cow cheese and home made pita chips (I make these sort of like I make home made tortilla chips. I also ate some of these before the pic)

apple

Snack 3: apple

carrots

snack 4: carrots and a couple red pepper slices

salad

Dinner on the go: salad with a bit of pico de gallo, carrots, red peppers

bar

And last but not least, a detour bar in case I’m starving on campus!

I do hope that everyone else’s eats today were much more exciting and tasty than mine were. Twice a week for the rest of the summer I will have 10-12 hour days on campus, and will be forced to snack all day. If you all have ideas for yummier/heartier snacks, I’m begging you to tell me!

One thought on “Heavy Legs = Slow Mal and WIAW

  1. I tend to do a lot of snacking all day to fill up bc of my sched. too! So I gots a few suggestions for ya 🙂 Wraps are super easy and convenient for on the go..you could do veggies with hummus, or banana, honey and pb. Also, gotta love me some Skinnygirl on-the-go bars and yogurt (put it in a little lunch box with an icepack). Carrots are my fave veggie snack, but looks like you got that covered. Let’s do some pinning to find really crafty snack options?? 🙂

    LOVE YOOOUS!

Leave a Reply

