Shoes.. Let’s get some shoes

Greetings, Friends! After a short work day on Thursday, I went home and first things first, I took sweet Louie on a walk. He’s always the cutest face to see when walking in the door!!

photo-18

My running for the day was rather odd – my legs felt even more sore today, and I didn’t have much motivation to run. I ran 1.5 miles at an 8:30 pace to make sure I kept up with the Runner’s World Running Streak, but I headed inside after that to call it quits for the day. Miraculously, I had a surge of energy right before dinner time, and recruited Derek to go on a 4+ mile run with me. We ran all over Bayshore and kept each other entertained.. Running with a partner > running by my lonesome (usually).

watch

Our run ended up being a little over 4.5 miles I believe (my Garmin lost connection to the satellite for a bit when going through a tunnel).

After coming in from our run, I was ready for some dinner! I noticed that Tilapia was on sale at Publix this week, so I thought up a quick pan seared tilapia recipe to cook.

Pan-Seared Peppered Tilapia

1 lb. tilapia

1 tbsp cumin

1tbsp oregano

1 tbsp black pepper

1 clove garlic, chopped

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

juice from 1/2 of a lemon

In a small bowl, combine cumin, oregano, and black pepper. Squeeze 1/2 of the lemon juice over both sides of fish and scatter chopped garlic over the top of the fish. Season tilapia with your herb and pepper mixture. Let sit for 30 minutes.

In a large skillet over medium-high heat, warm one tbsp of extra virgin olive oil. Sear tilapia for about 3 minutes on each side. Transfer to a serving dish, and squeeze remaining lemon juice over tops of the fish. Serve with vegetables.

I served the tilapia with sautéed onions and steamed green beans!

tilapia2

Now, I need you guys’ help on a super important decision. I’m in the market for some new running shoes. In the past, I’ve always gone with Nike so that I could link my shoe up to the app on my phone. Now that I have a Garmin running watch, however, that’s not necessary anymore and I’m ready to transition into some better running shoes! After some research on the internet, I’ve narrowed it down to the following 5 choices.

Brooks Women’s Adrenaline GTS 13 $110

brooks

Mizuno Women’s Wave Rider 16 $115

Mizuno

Newton Distance $155

newtons

New Balance 860V3 $115

new balance

Saucony Women’s Kinvara 4 $100

SauconyAs you can see, the shoes range in price from $100-$155, so they are all pretty comparable as far as price goes. Does anyone have positive experiences with these shoes? Is there a pair I should steer clear of? Any advice is welcome!

Have the happiest Friday! I’m off to an Xtend Barre class with Megan, followed by a meeting with a florist 🙂

5 thoughts on “Shoes.. Let’s get some shoes

  1. I used to have the Brooks Adrenaline and loved them! I have slight overpronation when I run and this shoe was awesome for foot and ankle support. I just recently switched to the Brooks PureFlow 2’s because they feel slightly lighter but they do have a little less ankle support.

  2. Pingback: A New Week | eatsandfastfeets

Leave a Reply

