My funky Friday

Hey guys! How was everyone’s Friday? Making a decision on which shoes to get was NOT something I accomplished on Friday, but the following things were:

photo-19

Megan and I went to an Xtend Barre class. We met up there, and of course were both wearing purple tanks, black work out capris, and the same barre socks. This cracked me up because when Megan and I were in college, everyone would confuse us for each other (I was treasurer and people would go to/e-mail Megan asking financial questions… People would tell me happy birthday on Megan’s birthday.. You get the picture). It didn’t help that somehow we always managed to dress the same.. Our friends sometimes thought we called each other ahead and planned to match, but I SWEAR we didn’t.. Here are some funny pictures of those occurrences:

freshman

This one is an oldie from Sorority Recruitment in 2008

senior

A more recent picture from 2012

After Barre class I came home and whipped up some lunch.. I made a salad to start, but I was feeling a little chilly from gulping ice water, so I cooked up a warmer dish after the salad.

image

For this green bean masterpiece (with green beans from my Nano’s yard), I started by steaming the green beans for 5 minutes. Next, I added some chopped onions, tomato, garlic, oregano, and a bit of feta cheese to the pot. I put the pot in the oven and baked at 350° for 7-8 minutes. It totally hit the spot and was just what my belly was calling for. (Note: if you’re going to try this little recipe, make sure your pot is oven-safe! aka no rubber!)image-1

About an hour after lunch I was STILL starving!!! I have no idea what was going on with me, as I usually have a small appetite mid-day, but today was different. I made an english muffin with PB, honey, sliced banana and a sprinkle of walnuts and cinnamon:

banana sammich

It held me over through our florist appointment in the afternoon. Derek had an early day at work, so I suggested he meet my mom and I (and Louie) at the florist. I wanted him to have an idea at what goes on at all of the meetings and consultations I’ve been going to to plan our wedding. He didn’t love the idea, but showed up with a smile! After attending the consultation, I think he’s feeling really lucky he doesn’t have to be too involved in the wedding planning.

After a pitiful 1 mile run, we did some hard core snacking throughout the early evening.. Derek put together this cheese and cracker plate and presented it to me. He said he put it together so nicely because he thought it was lovely enough for the blog

image-41Isn’t he just the cutest? As you may be able to guess from my incessant eating throughout the day, I wasn’t starving at dinner time. We went to Cooper’s Hawk Winery and Restaurant. The wait was an hour so we did a wine tasting before hand. The tasting was supposed to be 8 different 1 oz. pours, but the sweet girl working definitely gave us 2 or 3 oz. per pour. After the tasting, it was fair to say that I had already drank my dinner. Derek and I split some ahi tuna and called it quits for the night.

Anyone have any awesome Saturday plans? As for me, I’m about to head to the gym to get my work out finished before an awesome day. Derek’s sister and nephew are coming in town this morning, and I just can’t wait to see them!!!

Leave a Reply

