Oh What a Weekend..

As the weekend began, I knew it was bound to be an eventful one. I just didn’t know how quite eventful it would turn out to be. Saturday morning was just wonderful.. I made derek and I a frittata and french toast on the side. It came together a little like this:

Healthy Frittata
Ingredients
4 egg whites and 2 whole eggs
Half White onion, chopped
Half red pepper, chopped
2 thin slices of chopped black forest ham
1/3 cup reduced fat sharp cheddar
1/4 cup almond milk
Sprinkle of basil seasoning and pepper
Directions:
Combine egg whites and eggs in a large bowl and whisk. Add in 1/4 cup almond milk, and continue whisking , about 30 seconds. Add in remaining ingredients and slightly stir. Pour into lightly greased oven-safe frying pan or skillet and cook over medium-high heat until bottom is completely settled and top is almost settled. Remove from stove and broil until top is golden brown and bubbly, about 8-10 minutes (make sure it’s cooked thoroughly before serving!)
sliced fritatta
Health-ified Cinnamon French Toast
Ingredients
6 slices Day old French bread (or regular/whole grain bread if it’s all you have)
1 egg white
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon natural stevia leaf sweetener
Directions:
Combine egg white, cinnamon and sweetener in a bowl and whisk. Dip sliced bread, front and back, in the egg mixture. Place bread in a lightly buttered skillet and cook over medium high heat until bread is golden-brown (this took me about 2 minutes per side). Serve with syrup, honey, or berries!
fritatta and french toast
After our delicious and leisurely breakfast, we went to the gym to workout before Dalyn and baby Ayden arrived. I planned to run and do a back workout, but by the time my 4 miles were over, it was time to go! I spent the 4 miles doing stride intervals on the treadmill. I found the stride work out on Hungry Runner Girl’s blog. She’s so fast and such a determined runner and really inspires me!
photo-5
As soon as we heard Dalyn and Ayden’s flight had come in, we dashed from the gym to go see them.. We had an awesome day playing, eating lunch at Louis Pappas (I got Greek style lettuce wraps special), and hanging out with the dogs we are sitting for the weekend. We all had dinner at a local seafood restaurant that I usually love (but will remain unnamed – you’ll find out why), and  ended up finishing the evening by watching Friday Night Lights with the pups.
[Disclaimer: this may be T.M.I. .. read at your own risk! The most eventful experience of the weekend began around 7 a.m. on Sunday when Derek and I both woke up with stomach aches. We had shared some sushi with raw tuna and salmon the evening before, and something funky was going on with said fish. Derek got the junk out of his system very quickly, but my experience didn’t go that well. Several hours later, I was severely dehydrated, and  we were in the ER at TGH. Luckily, the wonderful nurses and doctors at TGH fixed me up in a few hours and I’m at home now resting up.]
As this is my second occurrence of getting sick from sushi (the doctor was unsure if it was from the fish, or a bacteria found in rice that is repeatedly re-heated), I think I’m going to steer clear of the little buggers for a while. This is a really hard declaration for me to make, as sushi has always been one of my favorite meals. But, for the time being, I definitely think this is the safest plan of action for me. Maybe I can re-introduce myself to sushi in a few years (starting with no rice or raw fish, of course).
I plan to spend the rest of my evening on the couch with my Gatorade, Saltine crackers, and hopefully some warm Chicken Noodle if I can manage it. Luckily, my Sunday night TV line-up includes Game of Thrones and the season premier of Keeping Up With The Kardashians (guilty pleasure), so I’m sure to be entertained!  I hope everyone’s day was more pleasant than my own, and that the week ahead is full of happiness!
One thought on “Oh What a Weekend..

  1. Pingback: Oh What a Weekend.. | eatsandfastfeets

Leave a Reply

