Fitnessista’s Summer Shape-Up and My Chicken Chili Recipe

Well hello there, friend! I’m happy to report that I’m back to my normal self today. I began my morning with steel cut oats.

After I let my breakfast settle, it was time to get my work-out on. At the last minute (it began yesterday), I decided to participate in Fitnessista’s Summer Shape Up! During this food and fitness filled 4 weeks, Gina will send participants weekly work-out routines to complete, as well as meal ideas. Week One looks like this:

SSUWeek1JPG

Since I was late signing up, I wasn’t e-mailed the password for “Workout 1” until Monday night (participation in summer shape-up is free, but Gina password protects the work-outs she creates). This was fine, though, since I was still recovering from the stomach fiasco of Sunday. I hopped on board to the Shape-Up today with “steady state cardio” (I did 35 minutes instead of 30).  After work this evening, I did a 5-minute ab burner and a Tabata video from Fitnessista’s website – I felt like I should do a little catching up from the last few days.

I think I’ve mentioned before that I like to have either a Mexican Monday or Taco Tuesday.. We didn’t have any tortillas on hand tonight, but I still wanted some spice in our dinner, so I made Chicken Chili and Chili-Stuffed Sweet Potatoes. This is how it all came together:

chopped veggies

Healthy and Hearty Chicken Chili

Ingredients

4 Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts

1 can black beans

1 can white northern beans

1 large can diced tomatoes

1 large onion

2 ears fresh corn (canned corn is ok)

4 cloves garlic, chopped

2/3 cup no sodium chicken broth

2 tbsp peppercorn

1/2 jalapeno pepper, diced very small

1/2 cup low fat shredded cheddar cheese

Splash of unsweetened original almond milk

Directions

Add chicken breasts, 2 cloves garlic and 1/3 of onion to a large pot. Add water to cover tops of chicken. Bring to a slow boil and cook, covered for 20-25 minutes. Remove chicken from pot. Let cool, and shred.

In a large clean pot, add 2/3 cup chicken broth, 2 cloves garlic, and the remaining onion, chopped. Cook over medium heat for 5 minutes. Add in white beans, diced jalapeno pepper, corn, black beans, and cook for 25 minutes. Reduce heat to low and add in shredded chicken and a splash of almond milk to thicken. Cook for 10 more minutes. Top with cheese (or guacamole) and serve.

My parents’ and my standard size Chili Bowl:

chili2

Derek’s Massive Chili Bowl:

dereks chili

Chili-Stuffed Sweet Potato

Ingredients

2 large sweet potatoes

chili from previous recipe

Directions

Puncture sweet potatoes with knife. Cook in microwave 15-20 minutes. Split sweet potatoes in half, and scoop out 1/2 of inside potato. Place the scoop in a separate bowl, and add in a few spoonfuls of the chili. Mix by hand the sweet potato and chili until incorporated. Spoon the mixture back into the sweet potato shells. Serve hot!

chili stuffed sweet potato

Now that dinner is over and lunch for tomorrow is packed, I plan to spend the rest of the evening watching TV with my family and snuggling with lil’ Lou!

louieeee

Leave a Reply

