Little Balls of Energy and a Darn Good Happy Hour

I am so thrilled that today looks about 10x more dry than yesterday was – I walked through ankle deep water at least three times yesterday, and that’s really a deal breaker for me. Besides the monsoon, however, my day was lovely. After a short work day, I spent about an hour wandering  shopping around Whole Foods. When I arrived home, I decided I wanted to make my own version of Fitnessista’s Amazeballs. These things are little nutty balls of protein/energy, and super easy to make. Here’s how I made mine:

Ingredients

1 T peanut butter

1 T almond butter

1 T quick oats

1/2 T shredded unsweetened coconut

1/2 T chia seeds

Handful of crushed almonds (I used 8-ish I think)

1/2 t cinnamon

1/2 T honey

Splash of almond milk

good amazeball ingredients

amazeballs

In a bowl, combine nut butters, oats, cinnamon, shredded coconut, chopped almonds, and chia seeds. Add a splash of almond milk as necessary to help incorporate all ingredients. Form into little balls, and stick in freezer on wax paper or aluminum foil. Let sit a couple of hours, and enjoy!

photo-41

After letting these freeze for a bit and popping one for some energy, I headed to the gym for a run (can’t wait ’till the weather isn’t a billion degrees or hurricane-ing constantly, so I can take my runs back outside). I did a “fartlek” run, which is basically alternating speeds in an unstructured way. After 40 minutes of running, I called it quits in time to get ready for my hair appointment and my date with Derek.

For our date, we went to one of our favorite places, Fleming’s. If you haven’t heard, Fleming’s has just about the best happy hour you can imagine. It’s called 5 for $6 ’till 7. There are 5 different drinks, 5 wines, 5 cocktails, all for $6 until 7pm. They also make their “Prime Burger” available for $6 during Happy Hour – I’m convinced they lose money on that burger because it is huge and delicious and a seriously good burger. Derek and I split the French Quarter Barbeque Shrimp, Housemade Burrata, and the Prime Burger, along with some beverages, of course.

flemings3Burrata, served with crostini, chargrilled tomatoes and arugula
flemings2Prime Burger with bleu cheese
flemingsFrench Quarter Barbeque Shrimp

I just can’t pick a favorite. Don’t ask me to!!!!!! I recommend them all and think you all should go – you won’t be disappointed! I’m super excited for what’s on the agenda today – wedding cake tasting! We were supposed to go last Sunday, but then the dehydration incident happened (missing cake tasting was probably the saddest part of the whole hospital ordeal).

What are your favorite cake/filling flavors?

Do you have a favorite Happy Hour?

Leave a Reply

