Happy Birthday Dad!

Today, June 12th, is an extremely important day – my dad’s birthday (yesterday was my uncle’s birthday – shout out to Uncle George)! I’m not going to tell you how old my dad is, but I bet you couldn’t even guess if ya tried! He’s seriously fit and fast for his age, and I hope to be in half the shape when I’m older.

 My dad’s one of the great ones and also one of my best friends – Happy Birthday, Dad! Love you!

dad and me

Celebrations are in order tonight after work and school – I’m licking my lips at the delicious dinner I know we’ll have.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

My day yesterday was a pretty typical one (not as special as today, since it was not yet June 12th). I started the day out by giving Louie a bath.. We went on a morning walk and he got filthy and I just couldn’t take it. I don’t think he minded either, he loves being rubbed and I made sure to give him a little puppy massage in the bath! After Louie’s bath, I knocked out an hour of CPA studying – and followed it up with a run and mini work out. My run was all over the place and looked like this:

Pick up the pace intervalsAfter running, I completed the following workout 2 times through:

  • 20 bicep curls (10 lbs)
  • 20 tricep dips
  • 1 minute jumping lunges
  • 30 pushups on stability ball
  • 50 crunches on stability ball
  • 45 calf raises

Nothing fancy, but I had a little time to spare so I made the most of it. I threw together a Strawberry Banana Blueberry Smoothie for breakfast . It’s pretty similar to my previous smoothie recipe, but with some different fruit and chia seeds.

image-51image-53

And made a tasty snack to take on the road with me. I combined 1 3/4 cups Smart Balance Popcorn with a handful of raisins and a handful of natural almonds

image-52It hit that mid-day snack attack spot…

All of these mini concoctions are my attempt at filling a cooking void. I haven’t had much time to prepare anything great lately, and I’m longing for a few hours in the kitchen. Maybe this weekend will present some time!

I hope everyone has a happy hump day today – I know I will celebrating my dad!

Leave a Reply

