Dad’s Birthday Re-Cap

Hey hello! Boy do I love birthdays – no matter whose they are, I feel like birthdays are such a special occasion and I can’t think of anything better to celebrate. I had a wonderful time celebrating my dad’s birthday, starting with breakfast! My dad is a creature of habit and eats a bowl of oatmeal with fruit and nuts every morning for breakfast. Today, in addition to his oatmeal (I’d hate to take something he loves away from him on his b-day!!!), I made him a breakfast burrito (don’t be fooled – my mom and I had ourselves some, too.. everyone deserves to celebrate).

For this Healthy Breakfast Burrito, I scrambled up the following:

1 egg

3 egg whites

1/4 cup reduced fat shredded cheddar

2 T unsweetened original almond milk

8 baby tomatoes, cut in halves

1/4 cup guacamole

whole wheat tortillas

Directions

Mix eggs, cheese and almond milk in a bowl. Add in tomatoes, and pour mixture onto a hot skillet. Cook, scrambling, on medium heat until eggs are completely cooked. Serve with a scoop of guacamole on a tortilla.

breakfast burrito

After breakfast, I ran a quick mile for the running streak, just in case I didn’t have an opportunity to run or work out later (spoiler alert: I ended up having time). A normal work and school day subsequently followed, and I headed over to my aunt and uncle’s house when I was finished with my day. My dad was there, and he and I laced up our new sneaks’ and headed out for a birthday run on Bayshore and Harbour Island.

dad and me shoes

We had a scorchering pleasant run, and even ran into my sorority sister, Jenna, who was adorable as anything roaming the streets on a segway (for work purposes, of course).

After cleaning up, it was FINALLY time to begin preparing birthday dinner. My dad grilled some delicious salmon, I contributed a cucumber tomato salad (I’ll share the recipe in a bit), and Aunt Pat made sweet potatoes as well as a DELICIOUS butter pecan cake (the recipe was my dad’s step-mother’s and a family tradition). I’ll have to ask her for the recipe to share with you all. My mom and Uncle George contributed their beautiful faces, which is more than enough for me.

Cucumber and Tomato Summer Salad

Ingredients

2 large tomatoes

1 large cucumber

1/2 one red onion

1/2 cup reduced fat crumbled feta

Handful of fresh basil, chopped

salt and pepper to taste

For dressing:

2 tsp fresh squeezed lemon juice

1 tsp honey

1/4 cup olive oil

Directions

Cut the tomatoes, cucumbers and onions in cubes. Add in crumbled feta and chopped basil, and toss. Sprinkle with pepper and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk together honey, olive oil and lemon juice. Serve alongside the salad.

cucumber salad

Our GIGANTIC cut of salmon

975388_4922017244014_1581786795_n

Last but not least, Aunt Pat’s Butter Pecan Birthday Cake

birthday cake

After work today, I’m so excited to have dinner with my old college roomies – hope everyone has a fabulous day!

Leave a Reply

