Roasted Spiced Edamame

Good morning friends!!!  Yesterday after work, studying, and a boring 3.3 mile steady run, I had a snack attack. Last week on my trip to Whole Foods, I picked up a bag of frozen edamame beans/peas, in hopes to make something yummy out of them. Well, lo and behold, yesterday occurred and I made Roasted Spiced Edamame! Here is how it all came together:

spices

Ingredients

1 bag of frozen (thawed) edamame (no shells)

1/2 t cumin

1 t garlic powder

1 t pepper

1/2 t oregano

1/4 t chipotle chili powder

1/2 season all salt

1/2 t salt

1/4 cup olive oil

Directions

Preheat oven to 375°. Pour olive oil over edamame and toss. Evenly sprinkle in all the spices, ensuring all beans are coated. Spread edamame on a baking sheet, and bake until golden and slightly brown, periodically mixing beans around on baking sheet (about 15-25 minutes).

finished edamame

 

Mine weren’t as crunchy as I would have hoped at first, so I put them back in the oven for around 10 minutes. I think the non-crunchiness was because I didn’t let them completely thaw before I began to roast them. Anyway, the finished product was great and I was eating them by the spoonful – shoveling them in my mouth until I left to meet some great friends for dinner!

Jourdan, Wendy Liz and I lived together for 2+ years in college, and haven’t been able to all spend time together in over a year. Tonight we were FINALLY able to, and we met at Carmel Cafe for dinner. This place is known to be pretty quick, as you order your food on iPads and it comes out within minutes of placing your order. However, we managed to stay close to 3 hours just catching up and laughing our faces off. I didn’t snap too many pics of our food, but I did get a couple:

carmel cafe pizzaTomato and Mozzarella Flatbread we shared
carmel cafe salmonMy delicious Salmon and Couscous

After dinner, I stayed up way too late watching Ready for Love (on demand)… When the show was cancelled I was seriously annoyed because I HAD to know who Ernesto ended up picking. Luckily, last night, Jourdan informed me the shows were available on demand and online – obviously I watched them all.

This morning I have a paper to write, and I hope to also bake something using my KitchenAid mixer. Anyone have any great sweets I should bake?

3 thoughts on “Roasted Spiced Edamame

  1. Pingback: Getting Spiced up in the Morning | hubamethod

Leave a Reply

