Berry Baked Oatmeal

Good Morning, friends! Happy Saturday! I hope you all had a fabulous Friday – I had the day off so mine was certainly nice. I spent the day at home with my parents, and all of us had the day off… What a perfect day for a special breakfast! Since we all love any kind of oatmeal (steel cut, overnight, you  name it…) I decided to make a baked oatmeal dish. Here is how it came together:

Ingredients

1 1/2 cup rolled oats (you can use any kind you like)

1  egg white

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup almond milk

2 tablespoons cinnamon

4 large strawberries, sliced

2/3 cup blueberries

1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

1/4 cup sugar free maple syrup

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

Preheat oven to 350°. In a large bowl, mix oats, baking soda, walnuts and cinnamon. In a separate bowl, combine almond milk, egg, vanilla extract and maple syrup. Stir until incorporated, and then fold into the dry mixture. Spray a glass baking dish with cooking spray and pour half of the oatmeal mixture into the dish. Scatter in the blueberries, and pour remaining oatmeal mixture atop. Top it all with sliced strawberries and bake for 25-30 minutes, until golden brown!

974951_4930628619293_341708871_n

I followed breakfast up with some serious procrastination, a 4 mile run that went like this:

super sweaty interval run

and finally some studying for both school and CPA. Once late afternoon rolled around, I went to a few stores with my mom to consider different dinnerware to register – she loves this part (who am I kidding, she loves every part) of wedding planning.

The rest of my night was spent with friends, dogs, and picking Derek up from the airport after he was in Dallas all week – I certainly was glad to see his sweet face! I don’t have much on the agenda today, which means I get to go with the flow and enjoy whatever comes up.. I love these kind of Saturdays!

Anyone have fun plans?

Have you ever made baked oatmeal and have a recipe you’d like to share with me?

Leave a Reply

