Carmelized Onion and Chicken Quesadillas – AND HAPPY FATHER’S DAY!

Happy Sunday, friends! My weekend has been an odd one  – I’ve remained indoors  for most of the weekend, and avoided most foods as I’m trying to figure out what it is that I’m allergic to. I’ve been dog sitting my fav pups this weekend, so I think at least they enjoyed my indoor company.

IMG_6263

I’m usually a g0-go-go person, so this low key weekend is throwing me off. One thing I was able to do amidst my rest yesterday was make Derek a quesadilla for lunch. I used ingredients I would have wanted to eat, had I been able to.. I guess we can say I was living vicariously through his allergy-free self. Here’s how the quesadilla came together:

Ingredients

1/3 cup crumbled gorgonzola cheese

1 1/2 teaspoon light brown sugar

1 small chicken breast, cooked and sliced

1/3 of a white onion, sliced

2 tortillas (corn or flour)

A handful of arugula

2 teaspoons vegetable oil

Salt and pepper to season the onions

Directions

Prepare your chicken to your liking (baked, sauteed, grilled). In a large skillet, heat vegetable oil. Add in onions and brown sugar, and cook over medium-high heat until golden brown and crunchy. Preheat oven to 300°. On a baking sheet, lay out the tortillas and top one with crumbled gorgonzola, onions, chicken, arugula, and finally another layer of cheese. Bake for 7 minutes, flipping quesadilla at half-way point. Cut and serve!

image-54

image-55

I had a bite just to try, but didn’t want to over do it, as I’ve heard dairy (especially aged cheeses) can trigger histamine release 😦

Around dinner time, Derek convinced me to leave the house and we went to see the movie “This Is The End”. I had hopes of it being a funny one, but it blew my mind with its hilarity. I’d recommend anyone who likes Seth Rogen, Jonah Hill, Craig Robinson, Jay Baruchel or Danny McBride go see it immediately.

As for me, I’m laying low right now, and watching TV with my dad. I’m sure this is just the type of Father’s Day he was hoping for 😉

One thought on “Carmelized Onion and Chicken Quesadillas – AND HAPPY FATHER’S DAY!

  1. Pingback: Apple Cheesy Quesadillas | momeefriendsli

Leave a Reply

