Spiced Up Maple Roasted Chicken

Greetings everyone! I think I’m officially back to my old self, thank the good Lord! I had a rough 72 hours of the 4 C’s: couch, crackers, cortisone, and chicken noodle soup, but that’s in the past and onward we go!

My mom and I attended a restorative yoga class yesterday evening, and I loved it. She’s been asking me to go for quite some time now, but I’ve always had evening class or plans and I’m never able to make it. Since I was laying low at home all afternoon, I was able to attend with her and I’m glad I did. Restorative poses are usually held longer than other poses, and use props, blocks, and blankets for extra support. It’s a relaxing and deeply stretching yoga practice, and was just what I needed after taking the last few days off.

983259_4946746102220_795547580_n

Thirty minutes before leaving for yoga, I started preparing a meal that would be ready right when my mom and I walked back in the door (all that was needed was a couple checks on the oven from dad). Here’s my recipe for… Spiced Up Maple Roasted Chicken and Sweet Potatoes

potatoes and onions

Ingredients

1 teaspoon chili powder

1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

1 tablespoon honey

2 tablespoon sugar free maple syrup

Salt and pepper, to taste

1 teaspoon cinnamon

3 yellow onions

2 large sweet potatoes

4 chicken breasts

1 ½ tablespoon olive oil

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cut the yellow onions and sweet potatoes in small cubes and place in a deep baking dish. Drizzle olive oil and salt and pepper over the potatoes and onions. In a small bowl, mix together honey, maple syrup, apple cider vinegar, chili powder, cinnamon, and pepper. Rub over front and back of chicken breasts. Place the sweet potatoes and onions in the oven and roast for 15 minutes. Remove from oven, and place maple marinated chicken breasts in the baking dish with the sweet potatoes and onions. Return to oven for 25-30 minutes. Serve hot!

chicken sweet potatoes

dinner june 17

We ate our chicken, sweet potatoes and onions alongside some hot steamed veggies, and followed up dinner by watching The Bachelorette!

Any other Bachelorette viewers out there?

Who is your money on for who Des picks?

Leave a Reply

