Wheatgrass Wednesdays & Veggie Chicken and Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

Wednesday morning was a rushed one – I spent half my allotted getting-ready time snuggling with Louie instead. How could I resist such a face? 979541_4921910921356_2108495714_n

Before heading out the door to work, I made some scrambled eggs and salsa for my parents and I, and ate it in under 30 seconds – not the best way to eat a plate of eggs, but I knew I had a long day ahead of me and wanted a hearty breakfast. After a typical day of work and class, I met up with Derek for some mid-week workout fun. We headed to the gym, and I completed the following interval run.

40 minute interval run

I intended to do the leg workout from week 3 of Fitnessista’s Summer Shape Up, but the gym was PACKED and it was getting late – I had some wheat grass calling my name and a feisty dinner to make. Instead I wrapped up my gym-time, and finished at home with 8 minutes of planks.

Wheatgrass Wednesdays

wheatgrass

I try to stop by Xtreme Juice, Tampa’s best smoothie joint, more than once a week, but no matter what I always try to make it for Wheatgrass Wednesdays. Every Wednesday, XJ does a $1 single shot and a $2 double shot of wheat grass – how can you beat that?! While there hasn’t been extensive research on the benefits of wheatgrass, it’s known for it’s heavy concentration of nutrients and vitamins, and I’ll take what I can get!

 (I love XJ’s indoor grass mat for Wheatgrass Wednesdays)

Wheatgrass Shoes

After our Wheatgrass date ended, we ventured home and I got started on dinner. We had some leftover baked chicken and various vegetables in the kitchen, and I wanted to incorporate them all into one fun dish. I decided to go with a Chicken, Veggie, and Quinoa Stuffed Green Pepper!chopped veggies

Veggie Chicken and Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

Ingredients

2 lean chicken breasts, baked or grilled

1 small squash, chopped

1 small zucchini, chopped

1 vine ripe tomato, chopped

1/2 yellow onion, chopped

1 garlic glove, minced

1/4 cup dry quinoa

2 large green peppers

1 garlic clove, chopped

1 tbsp olive oil

salt and pepper, to taste

red pepper flakes, to taste

sharp shredded cheddar cheese

Directions

Prepare chicken to your liking. When cooked through, chop and set aside. Preheat oven to 250°

Cut the top of the green peppers out and remove the seeds from inside.

Meanwhile, bring a pot of water to a bowl, and cook quinoa according to instructions (2 parts water to 1 part quinoa). Cook quinoa over low heat, covered, for 15 minutes.

In a large saute pan, heat olive oil over medium heat.  Add in chopped onions, and cook for 5 minutes before adding in squash, zucchini, and garlic. Cook for 5 more minutes, stirring occasionally. Finally, add in the tomatoes, chicken, salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes. Reduce heat to low for 5 more minutes, until quinoa is finished cooking. Add quinoa to vegetable and chicken mixture. Place peppers on a baking dish, and stuff chicken and vegetable mixture into the peppers. Top with shredded cheddar cheese and bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes, until cheese is bubbly!

Chopped Veggies cooked

Stuffed Pepper

The peppers were stuffed to the brim and bursting with flavorful goodness. I’ll definitely make this one again 😉

Does anyone else love a shot of wheatgrass?

Any recipes for stuffed peppers or tomatoes you want to share?

Leave a Reply

