Mustaches and Braised Chicken with Peppers, Olives, Capers etc.

Happy Friday, friends! I woke up very thankful today that I wasn’t broken out from an allergic reaction. The combination of time, antihistamines, and a little steroid pill has cleared me of my worries! The trade off from taking the steroid wasn’t too bad, I only grew a small beard during my recovery time..

photo-49

Last night I made a very flavorful chicken dish that I’m going to share with you all in a bit – but first I thought I’d bring you through my day. I finally felt comfortable running faster and longer than 3 miles, and had extra time in the afternoon to go for a 5 miler. I know it’s time to start making my average run length about 5 and my long runs closer to 7 or 8 miles, or I’m never going to be prepared for a half-marathon. Training at a longer distance is a current goal of mine – hold me to it!!

image-68

Following my run, I tried an “Arm Burner” from Fitnessista that looked like this600x567xarm-burner.jpg.pagespeed.ic.OIUasHmjcG

I wanted to complete it twice, but I was working out at home and wasn’t allowed. And by wasn’t allowed, I mean that this guy wouldn’t let me:

photo-50

.. Now on to the good part: dinner time! I typically don’t like re-creating recipes that I find on Pinterest, as they haven’t really been vouched for if they are pinned by a random pinner (I could pin anything on there, which doesn’t necessarily mean it’s good!). However, I figured if Williams-Sonoma pinned it, it’s probably a good one. I found my inspiration from a recipe on their board, and tweaked it by adding a few vegetables and taking out some ingredients as well. image-67

Braised Chicken with Peppers, Olives & Capers

4 pieces of lean chicken breast

1 Tbs. olive oil

1 Tbs. rosemary seasoning

2 large bell peppers, sliced

1/2 of an onion, sliced

1 zucchini, diced

1 clove garlic, diced

2 cups gold and red baby tomatoes, sliced length-wise

1/3 cup dry white wine

1/3 cup pitted kalamata olives

1 Tbs. capers

Sprinkle chicken with rosemary, salt and pepper on both sides.In a deep sautee pan over medium heat, warm the olive oil. Add the chicken and cook for about 5 minutes per side. Remove chicken from pan and transfer to a plate.

Add the bell peppers, garlic, onion, zucchini to the pot and cook for about 5 minutes. Next at the red and gold tomatoes, olives, capers and wine. Bring to a boil and return the chicken to the pot. Reduce the heat to low, cover and cook about 15 minutes longer. Serve immediately.

image-66

The rest of my evening after dinner consisted of studying CPA materials (until my laptop died and I was too lazy to get the charger), and finishing a book I’ve been reading – Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell. It was a really great read and very insightful and informative – I love a book that can demonstrate ways in which I can live a better life and be more successful in my endeavors!

200811_omag_gladwell_220x312

Leave a Reply

