Switching It Up

Hey peeps! On the eats front, Thursday takes the cake in terms of “switching it up”. I typically don’t share all my meals on the blog because I eat the same ole things day in and day out. Mornings are typically some kind of oatmeal concoction or eggs if I’m feeling fancy, snacks are almonds and apples and greek yogurt, and lunch is usually a funky salad. But my stomach on Thursday was just screamin’ for all things different! So I started my morning with a huge bowl of mango and banana. The mango was so juicy and sweet and I’m declaring mango as my favorite fruit!image-94

I had a half day at work, so I came home and whipped up some quinoa with steamed broccoli and carrots, garlic and a bit of shredded cheddar. Having some real cooked food for lunch was a special treat from the norm.

photo-62I did some exciting CPA studying after lunch, and went to the gym after my food settled. I was feeling bored so I kept my run interesting with the following interval work out:

Super sweaty intervalsI finished up my time in the gym with some weights. I’m pretty boring when it comes to my weights work outs, but they went like this:

  • Front raises, 15 reps, 2 sets
  • Lateral raises, 15 reps, 2 sets
  • Walking Lunges with weights, 20 reps per leg
  • 100 crunches on stability ball
  • Tricep dips, 15 reps, 2 sets

Dinner was by far the most exciting time of the day. I met 3 great friends for dinner at Carmel Cafe. Megan, Katie and Jessi are all sorority sisters of mine, but we’ve known each other years before Kappa Delta brought us together. We all try to get together every so often, and this dinner was a special occasion, because Katie recently got engaged! Katie’s fiancé proposed to her a few weeks ago, and I was dying to hear every bit of the tale. Katie is truly one of the kindest people I know, and she and Sean are the perfect couple – I am so happy for them!

After hearing all about the beautiful proposal, we finally decided it was time to order some food. Everything on the menu looked delicious and we were having some decision issues, so we decided to get several dishes to share.

image-102Chicken Artichoke Flatbread – we were hungry if you couldn’t tell
edamame hummusEdamame Hummusvegetable plateRoasted Vegetable Platterbrussel sproutsRoasted Brussel Sproutschicken skewersChicken Skewers with Peppers and Onion

It’s hard to pick a favorite because each dish had such unique flavors. But, if I must, I think the chicken skewers win this contest! I’m very excited for what’s in store today – more wedding cake tasting!! This time we are being surprised by the baker with the cake flavors – I can’t wait to taste what she has made for us!

Have a happy Friday, friends!

Leave a Reply

