Big Toe, Big Problems

Well, hello there! Fancy meeting you here! I’m having more difficulties than usual in typing this post, as Louie is sitting in my lap and pawing at my keyboard. Maybe he’s telling me he wants to do a guest blog post? I woke up yesterday a prepared myself a quick egg, onion and spinach b-fast fajita before heading to work and class image-120

An egg breakfast always holds me over so much better than other kinds of breakfast. I’m not sure why, maybe it’s just in my head. After work and class, I came home and hopped on the treadmill to complete 1 mile for the Runner’s World running streak. I knew it probably wasn’t the best idea, as my big toe is hurting me big time, but the only days I’ve missed the streak were when I got sick this summer (I swear I usually don’t have this much going on – this summer it seems like one thing after another) and I refuse to not finish this thing out. After the run, which surprisingly left my toe feeling better, I completed the following core video:

The video is a part of a series that targets different parts of the body. I really love the instructor in the video, and I probably will do these for the next few days as I’m trying to keep my mileage to a minimum. Please tell me if you’ve ever suffered from a injured/painful toe and what you did to fix it! It’s probably the most annoying body part to hurt because it’s so small and I never realized how much I use it (for picking things up like a monkey, obviously).

For dinner we wanted seafood, so I prepared salmon and shrimp. I brushed the salmon with the following marinade, and grilled it in a foil packet for 20-25 minutes.

Lemon and Caper Salmon

Ingredients

2 tbsp white wine

1 1/2 tbsp lemon juice

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp oregano

pepper and salt

1 clove garlic, minced

1 1/4 lb fresh salmon

2 tbsp capers

1/2 cup chopped onion

In a small bowl, mix white wine, lemon juice, olive oil, garlic, oregano, salt and pepper. Place salmon in foil packets, and brush tops liberally with lemon sauce. Place capers and onions in the foil packets, and seal shut. Grill for 20-25 minutes.

image-119

The shrimp dish I made along with the salmon was the same that I shared with you last night. The only difference in the dish was the added quinoa. I cooked 1/2 cup quinoa and added it to the baking dish before placing it in the oven. I really liked the fluffiness the quinoa added, and my parents agreed (although I believe they referred to it as kin-oh-ah).

After dinner, my dad and I watched 2 episodes of Homeland. We’re only 3 episodes away from the finale of season 2, which is going to absolutely blow his mind (and mine again, I’m sure).

Louie watched too, but requested not to be photographed. I did it anyways and he blocked me.image-122

Today I plan to get a mile in, complete an arm work out, and head to work. I’m having dinner with friends I’ve been close with since I was 7 years old, and our beautiful moms! I can’t wait 🙂

Leave a Reply

