3Ms and Mexican Five Layer Dip

Hola, amigos! I hope you are all having a fantastic hump day and ready for the 4th of July tomorrow. I had such a fun day on Tuesday night with my forever friends MK and Michelle, and all of our lovely moms. MK lives in Dallas and is in town for the week, and the rest of us live here in Tampa, but we haven’t gotten together as a group in at least 7 years. I’ve known them both since 1st grade, and we were best friends all the way throughout highschool (we referred to ourselves as the 3MS – as you might guess, this won us A LOT of friends). We spent several hours catching up over wine and great Italian food at Bella’s in Tampa. At the end of our evening, our mom’s wanted to take pictures of us all together. With 6 ladies, I’m sure you can imagine how many re-takes we did. Our waitress literally thought we were all insane.

gals

IMG958292

photo-71

IMG959981

photo-72

Obviously we’re freaks of nature.

Rewind to Tuesday morning – I ran my mile just to continue the running streak, and followed it up with a Jillian Michaels work out video from her 30-day shred series.

This video was a bit longer than the core video I shared yesterday, and it made me a bit more sore this morning so I liked it better! Today my toe is feeling better so far, so I hope to run a longer distance today. After my work out, I had a smoothie that looked like death but tasted delicious photo-69

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Last week I told you guys about a Five-Layer dip I made for TJ and Fawn’s rehearsal dinner party. The recipe I used is an Ellie Krieger recipe from Food Network. I followed it almost exactly, only leaving out jalapeños y chiles in adobo because I didn’t want to make the dish too spicy for the guests. Here’s how the dip came together:

image-106

Ingredients
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 medium onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 (15.5-ounce) can black beans, preferably low-sodium, drained and rinsed
4 tablespoons lime juice
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
1 tablespoon water
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups corn kernels (10-ounce box frozen corn)
1/4 cup chopped cilantro leaves
2 ripe avocados
4 medium tomatoes, seeded and diced (about 2 cups)
1/4 cup thinly sliced scallion
3/4 cup shredded extra-sharp Cheddar (reduced fat)

Directions

Heat the oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Add onions and cook until they soften, about 3 minutes. Stir in the garlic and cook for 2 minutes more.

Put half of the onion mixture into a food processor with the black beans, chipotle pepper, 2 tablespoons of the lime juice, cumin, water and salt. Puree until smooth. Set aside.

Add the corn to the skillet with the remaining onion mixture and cook for about 3 minutes. Remove from the heat and stir in the cilantro leaves.

In a small bowl mash the avocado with the remaining lime juice. In a medium bowl toss together the tomatoes, scallion and jalapeno, if using. Season tomato mixture with salt and pepper, to taste.

Spread the black bean dip into the bottom of an 8 by 8 glass baking or serving dish. Top with the corn mixture, spreading it out to form a single layer over the beans, repeat with the avocado, then the tomatoes. Top with cheese.

image-105

And with that, you are ready for a fiesta! Happy hump day, everyone!

Leave a Reply

