Halfway There!

Ooooh we’re half way there! Ooooh livin’ on a prayer! Obviously Bon Jovi was talking about Wednesdays when he wrote that song. Happy hump day everyone and congratulations on being halfway to the weekend. I’ve got quite the busy day ahead of me so I know it will go by super fast!

On Tuesday I began my day with a Barre class at a Tampa pilates studio. My friend Sara did the class with me (Sara introduced me to barre class several months ago), as did her sweet mom and friend of her mom.

image-147

The pic isn’t blurry, that’s just how we naturally look.

After the class, I tended to the sweet dog clients I’m sitting,photo-81

and went to Starbucks to get some fuel for the day

photo-79

Mallor-ey. Close enough.

I won’t bore you with the details of work,  so let’s skip to the evening meal!

I knew I’d be eating dinner with my dad and nephews, so I needed to make a kid/man friendly meal and excessive veggies were out of the question. I made some greek-inspired chicken kebabs with tomato, onion, and zucchini (and just as I suspected, my nephews were successful in avoiding the zucchini). I served the skewers with homemade hummus (will share the recipe ASAP) a large salad, and a cheesy potato concoction my dad cooked on the grill.

Ingredients

1 zucchini, sliced

1/2 of large onion, cut into 1 inch pieces

cherry or grape tomatoes

1 clove garlic, minced

1 lb. large chicken breasts

2 T oregano

2 T fresh lemon juice

1 T olive oil

Salt & Pepper

Wooden Skewers, soaked in water for 15-20 min

Directions

Cut your chicken breasts into small cubes and place in a large freezer bag. Add 1/2 clove of minced garlic, 1 1/2 T oregano, 1 1/2 T fresh lemon juice, 1/2 T olive oil, and salt and pepper to taste to the bag. Seal and shake and let marinate. In another large bag, add sliced zucchini, onion, and tomatoes. Add remaining lemon juice, olive oil, garlic and seasoning. Seal and shake.  Thread your chicken and vegetables onto the skewers in whatever order you like. Grill until completely cooked (took me about 3 minutes per side).

image-146Whoo hoo using my new grill-pad from a LivingSocial impulse buy!

image-144

image-145

image-143

image-142

image-141

I was feeding my nephews snacks all before dinner, and I, too, engaged in some hardcore snackage (anyone surprised?). Since I was so proud of my hummus, I went to town on that also. And who could turn down ice cream sundaes with a Wright’s chocolate cake at the bottom? Not this girl. Anywho, I’d imagine my food baby is weighing in at about 6 lb 5 oz.

In other exciting news, my dad and I finally finished Homeland Season 2 last night. If you’ve read the blog for a bit, I’m sure you’ve heard me talk about how much I love this show. Derek and I started watching it last fall with my nephew Fuller, and once I completed both seasons, I KNEW my dad would love it too, and I HAD to watch it all the way through with him (in case he had any pressing questions, of course). My dad uttered the words, “please don’t let it be Sal”, several times last night. I agree dad, please don’t let it be Sal!

2 thoughts on “Halfway There!

Leave a Reply

