Buffalo Chicken Lettuce Cups [in the Crockpot]

I’m not trying to point any fingers or pass any blame, but I think this guy is the reason why my studying takes a good 30% longer than it should

Photo on 2013-07-11 at 16.03

This is Louie walking across my lap with my laptop on it (I snapped a photo with photobooth just in time!). He is so needy and hates when I pay too much attention to the computer and too little attention to him. Louie, if you’re reading this, I hate paying attention to the computer too!

I’m also pretty sure that 60% of my waking hours today were spent studying CPA materials. No bueno, but I recently scheduled my LAST test for 3 weeks from today, so I have to keep on pushing through! I did get to enjoy some of my homemade hummus as a study snack.

photo-87

I took a late afternoon study break and hopped on the treadmill for a run. The beginning of the run started off rough – I got off after the 1st mile and after the 2nd mile and did some arm and ab exercises because I was getting bored. All I could think in the beginning of the run was “this sucks” –  when I finally stopped thinking about boredom and just got in the running zone, I was able to crank out 6 miles and it felt great 🙂 Sometimes negative thinking can really ruin any exercise – I find myself actively trying to hush negative thoughts at least twice a week during runs.

photo-86

I can’t remember what triggered it, but I had a sudden craving in the middle of the day for something spicy, and decided I wanted to make some kind of buffalo chicken dish. I’ve never made this before, and have rarely ordered buffalo chicken at restaurants, so I honestly didn’t even know what was in buffalo sauce (embarrassing). It was worth a google (read in southern accent a la Zach Galifianakis in “The Campaign”).

Turns out the main ingredient in buffalo sauce is a buffalo. So I went and got one and got to work!

Kidding. It’s basically just hot sauce, some spices, and perhaps some white or rice wine vinegar if you’re feeling frisky. Seemed simple enough to me, so I whipped up a buffalo chicken dish in the crock pot! Here’s how it went:

CrockPot Buffalo Chicken Lettuce Cups 

Ingredients

4 lean chicken breasts

1/2 large onion, diced

1 celery stalk

1 clove garlic

1 cup low sodium chicken stock

1/4 cup hot sauce

1/2 teaspoon paprika

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

1/4 cup almond milk

1/2 head of lettuce

1/2 cup crumbled bleu cheese

1/2 cup tomatoes, diced

1/2 cup carrots, diced

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Combine chicken, garlic, chicken stock, spices, celery stalk and onions in a covered crockpot over high heat for 4 hours. Remove chicken from crockpot and shred with a knife and fork. Save 1/3 cup of broth mixture from crock pot, and pour out the rest. Add shredded chicken back to the crock pot with remaining broth and mix in hot sauce and 1/4 cup almond milk (this isn’t a necessary ingredient, I just wanted my mixture a bit creamier!). Season with salt and pepper and cook on low for 30 minutes.

Remove chicken from crock pot, trying to avoid the remaining liquid (who wants soggy salad?). Serve chicken on large pieces of lettuce from the lettuce head. Top with carrots, tomatoes and bleu cheese crumbles!

image-149

image-151

photo-85

I was pleased by how easily this came together – the crockpot is there for me time and time again! If you’re not a crazy fan of spicy foods, I’d just cut back on the hot sauce a bit. Or, don’t be a pansy and just suck it up! If you can’t stand the heat, get outta the kitchen! Just kidding, again – sorry for being so rude today!

I hope you all have a fabulous Friday and weekend – I’m going to a yoga class with Megan today at a new-to-me studio and I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

