Hummus at Home

I made hummus this week and it keeps popping up in photos on the blog – I wanted to share with you guys as an easy recipe for the weekend!

Homemade Hummus

Ingredients

4 cloves of garlic

2 cans of chickpeas, drained (Reserve the liquid)

1 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup of tahini, plus 1 tbsp

6 tablespoons lemon juice

2 tablespoons of liquid from chickpeas

8 dashes of hot sauce

In a food processor fitted with a steel blade, drop in garlic and mince. Add the rest of the ingredients to the food processor, and process until the texture is a course puree. Taste and season to your liking!

photo-88

image-140

image-141

Now I’m gonna be honest with you guys – this wasn’t my first time attempting to make hummus. The first time I tried last year, I thought I hit the nail on the head – boy was I proud. But after tasting this recipe, I realize that my previous attempt was a nasty fail – shout out to Mom, Dad and Derek and anyone else who ate it with a smile. I appreciate you humoring my madness.

Ina Garten’s recipe was much better than whatever I found on Pinterest last year, which lacked Tahini, a key ingredient for hummus. I’m thinking the reason I opted for a tahini-free recipe last year was because tahini costs about $8 a can. BUT DON’T FRET! There’s enough tahini in that can for about 30 “Sabra”-sized containers of hummus, so in the end, it’s definitely cost effective. If you’re a hummus fan, please try to make this simple recipe – I promise you’ll love it and probably feel accomplished when your friends ask, “you made your own hummus?!”

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

In other news, Derek and I are trying to plan a trip to Boston in August to coincide with his work training in the city. We’ve never been to Boston before, and are trying to decide what to do while we’re there – anyone have ideas or pointers for us?!

3 thoughts on “Hummus at Home

  1. Pingback: Pesto Hummus - Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Hummus | Daily Gluttony

  3. Pingback: Top 13 Recipes of 2013 | eatsandfastfeets

Leave a Reply

