Yoga-filled Weekend

On Friday I tried a new-to-me yoga class at Evolution Yoga. Confession of the day: I’ve never actually taken a yoga class at a yoga studio before. I’ve taken plenty at gyms and whatnot, but yoga studios have always intimidated me because I was unsure that I’d fit in with all the yogis. I felt completely un-judged by my fellow class-goers, and I thoroughly enjoyed the Warm 60 class – a shortened version of Bikram that takes place in a room that is 90° instead of the traditional 105°. I’d love to take the class again, and eventually work up to something a bit more challenging! For any of you who want to dip your toes into the world of yoga, especially bikram classes, this is a great place to start!

I also fit a 20 minute run in with my dad on Friday. Before the heat of the summer took over the state of Florida, my dad and I would often run together on Fridays. We haven’t been able to in quite some time, so it was nice to get a short run in together.

Later on Friday evening I received an e-mail from my running club group about a Yoga for Runners class being held at our local Lululemon store. Derek has never been to yoga before, but is one of the most flexible people I know – kind of like Gumby. He was skeptical, but agreed to come with me since the class claimed to be geared towards runners. He out-yoga’d me in most poses, but couldn’t keep the giggles down when the teacher commanded certain poses – especially happy baby and 3-legged dog (poor dog). The class had a great turn out- I would estimate that more than 60 people attended the rise ‘n shine class! All in all we had a good time, and I hope to go back again!

image-156

20130714-235046.jpg

While yoga doesn’t give me the cardio/heart rate fix I crave (I ended up running another 4 miles after the class on Saturday), it definitely leaves me sore in places I typically don’t feel sore. Today my shoulders are killing me, and I love it!

Leave a Reply

