An Inspirational Pair

I watched the ESPY’s 2 nights ago and it was just as entertaining as ever. Jon Hamm (of Mad Men) was a great host, but I think two men by the name of Hoyt really stole the show. The pair is a father and his handicapped son who have competed in hundreds of races -marathons included- together. They were honored with the ESPY’s “Jimmy V” award, and I just had to share this inspiring video with you all.

This story really struck a chord and warmed my heart. It also reminded me to always be grateful and joyful about life, just as the Hoyts are.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Yesterday was a standard Thursday for me – ya know, just a lot of working and studying! Now I’m at less than 2 weeks until my final (hopefully) CPA exam, and it’s crunch time. After I studied my brain off, I ran 5 miles on the treadmill. I focused on increasing speed with every mile so that I could maintain negative splits. This is much easier on the treadmill, since I can physically control the speed I’m at. I ran the first mile at 6.2 MPH, then 6.4, then 6.6, 6.8 and the last at 7.0. I followed my run with the following work out, repeated twice

Screen shot 2013-07-19 at 7.46.51 AM

Dinner

I can’t take credit for the recipe from dinner last night – it was absolutely delicious and seriously easy, but I took it from Skinny Taste. This is the first recipe I’ve tried from this blogger’s site, and everyone LOVED it. Here is the recipe for the Skinny Chicken Pesto Bake (made with HOMEMADE BASIL PESTO!)

Ingredients

2 (16 oz total) boneless, skinless chicken breast

salt and fresh pepper to taste

4 tsp Skinny Basil Pesto

1 large tomatoes, sliced thin

6 tbsp (1.5 oz) shredded reduced fat mozzarella cheese

2 tsp grated parmesan cheese

Directions

Preheat your oven to 400° F. Line a baking sheet with foil or parchment for easy clean-up.Wash chicken and dry with a paper towel. Slice chicken breast horizontally to create 4 thinner cutlets. Season with salt and pepper. Place the chicken on prepared baking sheet. Spread 1 tsp of skinny pesto evenly over each piece of chicken.Bake for 15 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink in center. Remove from oven;top with tomatoes, mozzarella and parmesan cheese. Reduce heat to 200° and bake for an additional 3 to 5 minutes or until cheese is melted. Enjoy immediately !

image-175

image-178

image-179

photo-105

image-173

I also prepared an easy couscous and vegetable dish to enjoy with our chicken. It, too, was fairly easy!

Ingredients

Couscous, prepared according to packaging directions

1 zucchini, diced

2 cups cherry tomatoes, cut in half

1/3 red onion, diced

1 T olive oil

1 T oregano

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Pour olive oil in a frying pan. Add zucchini, onion, salt pepper and oregano and cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add tomatoes and cook 2 more minutes. Remove from heat and stir into prepared couscous. Serve hot, or let cool and serve as a pasta-salad.

We ended our evening by watching 42 (the Jackie Robinson movie) as a family. My nephew, Zachary, is in town, and stayed with us last night. He will be 14 next week, so 42 was a perfect movie for him, myself, and my parents to all enjoy. I would highly recommend it if you haven’t seen it!

One thought on “An Inspirational Pair

  1. Pingback: Homemade Basil Pesto | eatsandfastfeets

Leave a Reply

