The Clymb + A Mini Egg Omelet

Go ahead and anticipate this post to be all over the place, because it will be! First I wanted to share with you all a website I recently came across. While I wouldn’t go so far as to say I’m ready for a 12-step program, I would say that I have a shopping problem. Some of my favorite sites are flash sale-type sites such as RueLaLa, Gilt, Hautelook etc. All of the above are great discount designer sites that embrace my inner Fashionista. Imagine my elation and joy when I found an outdoor and active lifestyle flash sale site with the same idea. The Clymb is a shopping site that offers outdoor and exercise apparel and gear for deeply discounted prices. Signing up is free, and e-mail reminders are sent for currently occurring sales. Some of the brands on sale right now include Adidas, Camelbak and Sperry. The site also sells exciting adventures abroad for discounted prices, and I hope to be able to try one out someday! If you haven’t already discovered The Clymb, I think now is the time to do so!

Weekend Workouts..

Were slacking. Friday only included a 20 minute high-intensity interval run, and Saturday was an off-day due to moving Derek’s life into the new house. Yesterday I was finally able to get to the gym, and worked up a sweat with a 3.5 mile run, a 2.5 mile bike, and a little arms and abs work. I felt like I needed to make the most of my time there, since Friday and Saturday I was a slacker! I hope to run a bit more this week, and take a couple of yoga or barre classes as well, as I wasn’t able to do any group exercise last week!

The Recipe

I’m always looking for something tasty and new to try out for breakfast. While I love the morning meal and all its benefits throughout the day, I feel like the recipe options are limited, as typical breakfast ingredients normally just include eggs, a meat, oatmeals or yogurts. I had extra time on Friday morning and my family at home with me, so it seemed like the perfect day to try a new breakfast. I went for a baked egg omelet/muffin thing and I’m very happy with how it turned out!

image-188

Here is how it all came together:

Ingredients

4 egg whites

2 whole eggs

1/3 cup reduced fat shredded cheese (I used mozzarella, but pick your fav.!)

1/2 zucchini, chopped

1/2 cup diced tomato

1/2 cup diced onion

3 strips Canadian Bacon, cooked  (optional)

1 tsp. olive oil

Salt and pepper, to taste

Cooking spray

Directions

Preheat your oven to 350°. In a mixing bowl, whisk together egg whites, almost all of the cheese, salt and pepper. Cook the zucchini and onion for about 5 minutes in olive oil in a frying pan. Spray a muffin tin with cooking spray, and spoon the zucchini, onion, and tomatoes into the bottom of the muffin cups. Pour egg mixture atop the vegetables, about 3/4 of the way to the top. Top with remaining cheese and bake for 15-20 minutes, until eggs are cooked and top is just golden. Serve immediately!

image-184

image-183

My nephew is averse to vegetables, so he requested his with just bacon and cheese. I was more than happy to oblige!

image-188

image-196

This breakfast was easy and tasty that I made it again on Saturday morning for Derek. I made his with chopped turkey meat, cheddar cheese and onion. photo-100The great thing about this breakfast is that they can be made in advance for the week. Wrap your leftovers in an airtight Ziploc bag or Tupperware and re-heat for a fast and yummy breakfast later in the week! I hope you enjoy this recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

