Easiest. Dinner. Ever.

Well I guess my title is lying because the easiest dinner ever is definitely a big bowl of Honey Nut Cheerios. But I digress.

What are summer nights for if they’re not for grilling? Sunday night we took advantage of the beautiful outdoor entertaining space of the family we dog-sit for. We wanted something easy on the grill, so I prepared some chicken and sliced vegetables and Derek fired up the grill. The recipe was so simple and didn’t require any extra ingredients beyond the spices for the chicken and veggies.

Easy Grilled Chicken and Veggies

Ingredients

3 lean chicken breasts

1 red pepper, sliced

1/2 red onion, sliced

1/2 t olive oil

1/2 T pepper

1/2 t salt

1 1/2 t cumin

1 t paprika

1 t garlic powder

Directions

Trim excess fat from chicken and pat chicken breasts dry. Create a packet out of aluminum foil, and place sliced vegetables inside. Drizzle olive oil over the breasts and spread. Mix all the spices in a bowl, and sprinkle over both sides of each chicken breast and over the sliced peppers and onions. Place veggie packet and chicken on grill and grill for 8-12 minutes (depending on thickness of the chicken), flipping chicken half-way through. Enjoy immediately 🙂

image-189

image-191

image-192

It was deeeeelicious and I almost just as good the next day atop my salad.

photo-102Please try taking a photo of your salad in class and making a new friend in that class in the same day – it’s impossible.

I took my run outside yesterday and it was H.O.T. HOT!!! I managed to get 4 miles in in just around 34 minutes before I rounded the block and ended the run. It was my first sunny day outdoor run in quite a while and I think I forgot just how blazing it really gets out there. I will be sure to hydrate more next time and plan to run before 10 am.

The rest of the day was work and school, with a highlight of some treats from Datz Dough, provided by a new professor in the Department of Education. She brought the goods as a welcoming treat (shouldn’t we be welcoming the new guy, and not the other way around??) and my eyes popped out of my head when I saw a box full of sweet confectionary goodness. There was no label on said box, and she didn’t describe its’ contents, just left the box on the desk. I recognized the giant cookies as those from Dough, and took a large bite out of a mysterious chocolate-chippy looking cookie. But something was off with said cookie – so I called Dough to investigate their flava of the day. As soon as I heard Bacon Chocolate Chip, my suspicious were confirmed! These treats were definitely a la Dough, and my afternoon was officially made. This lady joined the short list of my favorite people alive.

I wish I took a pic of said treats, but my stomach was speaking louder than my head, and I went for “devour” instead of “snap a pic”.

Today begins my final review for my final (hopefully) CPA exam next week. I’ve been studying for this one for about 6 weeks now, and hope that my work will pay off come judgment day next week!

Leave a Reply

