Poor Little Louie + Baked Banana’s Foster

I’m starting off this morning sleepy and worried – not the best combination. I was up for parts of the night with a sick puppy. He’s had stomach issues for about a whole day now (trust me, you don’t want details), and it breaks my heart that he can’t talk and tell me what’s wrong. I called the vet this morning and was told to just watch him for the day and bring him in if his symptoms persist through the afternoon. Anyone have any experience with a sick Yorkie?

image-202

The good news is he was his normal happy self this morning, and didn’t seem too emotionally affected by the messy events of last night.

Moving on… Yesterday my gym routine was similar to the day before – I ran 3.5 miles in a little under 30 minutes, and did weight workouts that targeted my arms, abs, and legs. I have a hard time fully committing to a full-on leg workout, since I know it will make walking such a chore for the next few days.

Snapped a pic in my new Lululemon top

photo-103

Don’t you love my failed attempt at a pre-gym selfie? How come I can’t even figure out how to look in the mirror properly? Oh well.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Now I know I’ve said it before, but I am a dessert ADDICT. One of my favorite desserts in the world is Bananas Foster from the Harry Waugh Dessert Room at Bern’s Steakhouse in Tampa. They flambe their version in liquors, setting the mixture on fire right at the guests’ table. Because I’m not rolling in the dough and can’t take myself to Bern’s twice a week, I’ve created my own version. And my version is much easier, healthier, and safer!

Ingredients

1 banana

1 tsp cinnamon

1 packet natural sweetener

1 tsp brown sugar

1 tbsp honey

aluminum foil

Directions

Preheat oven to 350°. On a piece of aluminum foil, slice your banana length wise, and then slice each length in half (you will have 4 parts). sprinkle cinnamon, sweetener, brown sugar and honey over all 4 pieces. Wrap in foil, and place in oven on a cookie sheet. Cook for 10-15 minutes. Serve hot over vanilla ice cream, frozen yogurt, vanilla greek yogurt etc. for a healthy and tasty dessert!

photo-108

The picture doesn’t do it justice – sorry about that!

I hope you all have a wonderful day – I’m anxious to get home and love on my sweet Louie. Cross your fingers that he feels better, please!

Leave a Reply

