A Weekend in Foodie Paradise + Chicken Milanese

Happy Monday, friends! I’m finally getting around to sharing the recipe I promised you all last Thursday.  But first I’ll recap you on my weekend.

My taste buds were truly spoiled on Friday. I was so excited to have lunch with my friends Laura and Liz, and we went to a cute cafe in the Hyde Park area of Tampa called Piquant. Laura just returned from graduate school in Paris – she’s been there for a year and I seriously missed her! It was only fitting that we go to a French restaurant – I’m sure she’s having withdrawals.

Fast forward about 6 hours and I find myself at Bern’s Steakhouse, one of my favorite restaurants in Tampa (that was recently voted the 2nd best steakhouse in America by The Daily Meal)! Bern’s is a Tampa landmark and always a special place to go. Since it was my nephew’s birthday, we followed our dinner with a tour of the kitchen and wine cellar (largest private wine cellar in the world), and finally ended up in my happy place – The Harry Waugh Dessert room atop Bern’s. I had to roll myself home.

photo-115

On Saturday morning, after a 4 mile run with Derek in the new ‘hood, I spent the day shopping for an outfit for a special occasion with my mom. It was a successful trip! Plenty o’ hours were spent studying, and when the evening rolled around Derek and I met his sister and friend Maddie for a wine tasting and dinner. More foodie happiness for this girl.

And yesterday was spent churching, drinking coffee, studying, cooking and a lousy/slow 3.5 mile run!

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Finally the good stuff!!!!!

This spin on a chicken milanese dish was the first meal I cooked in the new kitchen – it’s always weird finding your way around and  working in an unfamiliar kitchen, but I can’t wait to get used to this one. Here is how the dish came together:

image-203

Ingredients

6 thin chicken cutlets

1/2 cup panko bread crumbs
1/4 cup crumbled feta
1 tomato diced
1/3 onion, diced
2 tbsp oregano
juice from 1/2 lemon
3 tbsp olive oil
3 tbsp balsalmic vinegar
salt and pepper

Directions

Preheat oven to 450°. In a mixing bowl, whisk vinegar, 2 tbsp olive oil, salt and pepper and oregano and add in the diced tomato and onion. Set aside and let marinate. Place chicken in a large glass baking dish (sprayed with cooking spray). In a separate bowl, mix together crumbled feta and panko bread crumbs. In a measuring cup, mix together olive oil and lemon juice, and then pour over chicken, making sure to coat both sides. Spread the bread crumb mixture over the chicken, also coating both sides. Top the breaded chicken with the tomato and onion mixture. Bake for 15-20 minutes, until chicken is cooked through.
image-205

I served the chicken with couscous and an arugula and spinach salad.

image-204

Leave a Reply

