Weekend Warriors + Switching Things Up

Hello! Everyone have a nice weekend? I hope so! Mine was joyous as I didn’t crack open CPA materials once. The last time a weekend like this occurred was months ago, and I can’t say that I missed spending the weekend up to my neck in debits and credits. On Friday I ran a fast (for me.. probably slow for most runners) 4 miles and played in the pool with my nephews for a little while. None of us can complain that Florida weather has taken a turn for the better over the past few weeks, and it seems to only rain in the late afternoon.

My mom, Abuela and I went to a late lunch and shopping for the remainder of Friday. Lunch was delicious and shopping was even better ( sweet deals at Ann Taylor Loft and J.Crew) but being with my mom and grandmother all day was the sweetest! My Abuela is the cutest in the world and I love spending time with her, especially when she’s shopping for the most bizarre items, such as this:

image-244

Sometimes I find myself in an exercise rut. It seems that lacing up my shoes and going for a run is the fastest and most efficient ways to get my heart rate up and just get moving. But I know the importance of switching things up and focusing on different muscles and exercises. So, Derek and I decided to hop in the pool after our 2 mile run on Saturday. He’s basically a fish and has no problem swimming up a storm (he set the record in 100m breast stroke at Palma Ceia Country Club as a 14 year old – Derek, if you’re reading, don’t kill me for this). But for me, swimming takes much more effort. While I’ve gotten into decent running shape over the last couple of years, I have a long ways to go before swimming long distances becomes comfortable for me, but I’m ready to take on the challenge! We did 20 minutes worth of laps (freestyle) and a few more minutes of kickboard laps before calling it a day.

photo-120

It was such a beautiful day so I was excited when Derek’s sister Davis declared it a boat day! We met his family and cruised around the Bay for a couple of hours, just soakin’ up the sun! Have I mentioned how much I love NOT studying on the weekends????

image-245

Our best friends Megan and Ben basically left us all month long!! They went to the keys for vacation for a couple of weeks, and I felt lonely and deserted, as most of our weekends are spent hanging with them. Ben is Derek’s roommate and now that he is back in town, he moved into the new house this weekend (he will be there until I move in). I love that all the rooms are full now, and the house finally feels complete with them back!

As per Megan and Ben’s recommendation, we all decided to try a new restaurant this Saturday evening. We went to Fly Bar & Restaurant, and all agreed that it was AWESOME. The concept at Fly is a “sharable plates” type thing, so we all split several items. One of my faves were the Basted Scallops with pancetta, but of course I devoured them too soon to snap a pic. Other insanely delicious dishes we tried were shrimp and grits with chorizo, the truffle macaroni and cheese (the noodles were actually ditalini, so I’m unsure why they call it macaroni! Be proud of your ditalini, Fly!), and the panko crusted goat cheese.

photo-119

image-242

image-249

And of course we passed on dessert at the restaurant in order to save room for our group favorite, YOGURTOLOGY!! My favorite Saturday evenings always end in ice cream or froyo. Now I’m looking for a new book to read, as I just finished Dan Brown’s Inferno. It was long and involved, but I really enjoyed it (just not as much as I enjoyed The Da Vinci Code).

Any recommendations for good reads?

Leave a Reply

