Crawling to Work

When I arrive at work/school I have quite the long walk from where I park to my building. Yesterday I went to a Barre class before work, and honestly, I thought I was going to get on all hands and knees and crawl to work, or hail a cab. The soreness hit me immediately, and I’m feeling it today as well! While this kind of soreness makes walking and everyday tasks a little more difficult, I love feeling it because it convinces me that I accomplished something in my workout! image-260

Rewinding to breakfast.. I had a tasty bowl of overnight oats that I prepared the evening before

photo-124

The cold oats were full of almonds, walnuts, and a large scoop of PB. They went great with my hot coffee!

Besides the added excitement of barre class, my day at work was pretty standard. But the evening got more interesting, since my nephew, Fuller was in town and came over to have dinner and stay with us! Out of all members of our family, I think Fuller loves Louie the most, but he’ll never admit it… photo-125But he doesn’t have to admit it because possession is nine-tenths of the law and I have evidence right here!!!!

For dinner I was shooting for simple and tasty. I went for a three-spice shrimp over a summer *succotash* (insert bugs bunny voice) and this is what it entailed:

Three- Spice Shrimp

Ingredients

1 1/2 lb. large shrimp (tails removed)

1 tbsp adobo all purpose seasoning (you can use your favorite seasoning here)

1/2 tbsp paprika

1/2 tbsp cumin

3 garlic cloves, chopped

1/2 tbsp all natural sweetener (I used truvia)

1 tbsp olive oil

Combine spices, garlic and sweetener in a large bowl and mix until incorporated. Add in shrimp and coat all shrimp evenly. Heat olive oil in a medium saucepan and add in shrimp once oil is hot. Cook until pink and cooked through, about 4-6 minutes (if your shrimp are already cooked, just cook until heated through).

image-262

Summer Succotash

Ingredients

1 can of corn

1/2 large red onion

1/2 cup diced cherry tomatoes

1 green bell pepper, diced

1 tbsp lime juice

Directions

Combine corn, onion, tomatoes, and pepper in a bowl. Squeeze juice from half of a lime over bowl. Serve chilled, or heat and serve hot!

image-261

We finished the evening watching Extreme Weight Loss over a bowl of ice cream. It just felt right.

One thought on “Crawling to Work

  1. Pingback: Blackened Tilapia with Cilantro Aioli + Mango Salsa, and My Envy-Worthy Plans | eatsandfastfeets

Leave a Reply

