Bruschetta Chicken

Wanna know a fun fact that I was oblivious to until a few years ago when I took an Italian language class? Our favorite little tomato and mozzarella appetizer is pronounced bru-sketta, not bru-shetta. Literally, my mind was blown when I learned this. Well, the reason I’m sharing this invaluable piece of information with you this morning is because I wanted to share a Bruschetta Chicken Recipe I made last week!

Bruschetta Chicken!

Ingredients

3 large chicken breasts, sliced in half to form thinner cutlets

3 large tomatoes, diced

1/2 cup basil leaves, cut into shreds

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

1/2 tbsp olive oil

4 cloves garlic, chopped

1 cup of part skim shredded mozzarella

salt and pepper

image-253

Pour olive oil in a frying pan and heat. Add in garlic and cook until golden brown, about 3-5 minutes. In a mixing bowl, combine tomatoes, basil, cooked garlic and balsamic vinegar and set aside. Coat the chicken breasts in pepper and a bit of salt, and grill until cooked through, about 10-15 minutes depending on your grill. Remove from heat and immediately top chicken breasts with a large spoon full of bruschetta mixture and shredded mozzarella. Serve hot!

image-250I served my bruschetta chicken with a simple salad and couscous (the invisible kind. It’s there, but you can’t see it). I had extra bruschetta mixture and mozzarella so I also served that on top of some crostini that I baked at 250° for 10 minutes to melt the cheese.

image-251

My nephews are super picky and devoured both dishes, so I dub these recipes “kid friendly”! Hope Y’all like it if you try it!

I’m in Atlanta this weekend enjoying time with Derek’s family, including my favorite person, baby Ayden! I hope you all have as great of a weekend as I plan to have!

2 thoughts on “Bruschetta Chicken

  1. Pingback: Crowd Pleasin’ Cheesy Bruschetta | eatsandfastfeets

Leave a Reply

