Chocolate Almond Biscotti

Derek recently demanded requested biscotti, and I couldn’t come up with any reason not to make it. I typically always turn to my simple almond biscotti recipe, but I wanted to switch things up this time so I gave it a chocolate flare.
image-279
  • 1 & 1/2 cups of whole natural almonds
  • 1 & 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour, plus a little extra for dusting
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup superfine sugar plus 1 tbsp for sprinkling on top of the loaves [I’ve also used a natural substitute, like Truvia, for half of the required sugar. 1/2 cup of sugar is equivalent to 12 packets of Truvia or 84 grams. http://truvia.com/recipes/conversion_chart ]
  • 2 eggs [ I’ve also had success with 1 egg and 2 egg whites ]
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 tsp of vanilla extract

image-281

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees F and line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper or foil (for easy clean-up).

Coarsely chop the almonds into uneven pieces. (I put mine in a doubled-up gallon size Ziploc and hit them with the back of the ice cream scooper.. There’s definitely not an easier way, right?)

Mix flour, sugar (and/or substitute), baking powder, cocoa powder, cinnamon, and chopped almonds in a large mixing bowl.

In a separate bowl, beat the eggs and vanilla extract until incorporated, and slowly add the egg mixture to the flour mixture. Use your hands to completely mix together to form a firm dough.

On your covered cookie sheets, divide the dough into 2 long, thick, “loaf” shapes (about 2 inches wide each). Sprinkle each with a pinch of sugar or brown sugar, then bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes, until golden and firm.

Remove the loaves from the oven and let cool for several minutes. Reduce oven heat to 320 degrees F. Cut the loaves into 1/2-inch slices, and place the biscotti cut-side down on the cookie sheets. Bake for a remaining 15-20 minutes until dry and crunchy. Remove from oven, let cool, and enjoy!

image-278

I love enjoying my biscotti with a cup of coffee – I think the Universe intended for coffee and biscotti to live together in harmony forever.

In other news, what should have been an easy 3.1 mile run yesterday had me feeling like my legs were made of bricks. We went on a few 4+ mile runs in hilly Atlanta and Woodstock, and they were truly KILLER. I am so spoiled with the flat terrain of Tampa that a few hills feel like Mount Everest to me. I’m happy for the challenge, but glad I get to come home to flatter land!

This is a pretty exciting week for me, so I’m just trying to push through to the end! Yesterday was my last lecture EVER, and tomorrow night is my last exam before receiving my Master’s degree! I’m trying to contain my excitement, but it definitely is tough. Justin Timberlake is the light at the end of my tunnel ❤

Leave a Reply

