A Yogi I Am Not… Yet

Yoga has always been a struggle for me. It’s slower than I’d like, and I’m not as good at it as I’d like. But I do enjoy the practice when I take the occasional class and I can’t say that I’ve ever finished a yoga class and regretted it.

I hope to start incorporating more yoga into my health and fitness routine, as I know it will help me physically, mentally, emotionally etc.

In my quest for yogi-status, I came across an article on Runner’s World that details the benefits of yoga for runners, and I thought it was an interesting read. It explains how helpful yoga can be for strengthening (and obviously stretching) a runner’s hamstrings, hip flexors, and quads, and how yoga can even improve running times.

The article closes by stating the importance of not getting too ambitious or beating yourself up if you aren’t half as flexible as the chick beside you. This is something I really need keep in mind when I feel intimidated walking into a yoga studio (which happens to be every time).

7 thoughts on “A Yogi I Am Not… Yet

  1. My husband and I started doing yoga once a week about 5 or 6 months ago, and I, like you, was a little skeptical at first. I wanted something where I was going to sweat like running! Plus, we were terrible. We’ve both experienced the benefits though (and I know we’d see more if we did it more than once a week!) I think I’m a better, healthier runner now as a result of doing yoga. And I am learning to enjoy the slower pace and not make to-do lists in my head while sitting in child’s pose 😉

  2. Pingback: I’m Unemployed… | eatsandfastfeets

  3. Pingback: Admitting the Truth – 300 word challenge ” My Truth about Yoga “ | Dancing with Fireflies

  4. Pingback: Which Qualities Make a Good Yogi? - Yoga for Men

Leave a Reply

