The Secret + Spicy Shrimp with Avocado, Black Bean and Corn Salad

First of all, I have to share how excited I am for my cousin, Brittany, and her fiancé Jon! They just got engaged this weekend, and words couldn’t explain how excited I was when Britt called and told me the news! I can’t wait for their wedding next year, and to finally have a boy cousin!

1148943_10200372012638700_63129815_n

At the recommendation of some of my co-workers, I decided to begin reading The Secret after finishing Ellen DeGeneres’ book, Seriously… I’m Kidding (which was hilarious and a great quick read). I must have been living under a rock, because I hadn’t ever heard of The Secret – either in book or movie form.

photo-130

But I’m all about positive thinking and learning ways to be a better version of myself, so I ordered it on Amazon and began reading a few days later. The Secret teaches us that we are in control of our lives, and we make good things happen to us through positive thinking. It instructs you to envision positive things occurring in your life, and these things will then occur. There’s much more to it than that, but I’m only half way through so that’s all you get!! Well, I tried to apply it in my own life yesterday morning. I’ve never been a morning runner – I laugh at the idea of getting a run in before 7 a.m., because the few times I’ve tried, I’ve failed because of all the negative self-talk going on in my head at that hour. “It’s too early to be doing this” or “I’m too tired, I can’t make it through this run” – this talk usually gets the best of me and I cut my run short or start walking.

Applying it to my run…

Two nights ago before I went to bed I made sure to think positive thoughts. I told myself, “tomorrow’s run at 6:45 a.m. is going to be great. It’s not going to feel any harder than any other run, and I’m going to enjoy it the whole way through”. And guess what? I did it, and it was just dandy! No negative thoughts, no lethargic legs, just a nice and steady 3 mile run checked off my list before 7:15 a.m. It didn’t hurt that Derek was there with me, but that was just an added bonus!

973407_4895796988524_294830867_n

I hope to be able to apply the concepts I learn in this book to all aspects of my life. I’ll be sure to let you all know how it goes!

After my hot run and a cold shower , I started the day with a big bowl of old fashioned oats, topped with sliced banana and honey. photo-127

It fueled me to power through a long day at work! ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

My nephew, Parker, was coming over tonight for dinner, so I knew I wanted to make something that would bode well with his tricky taste buds. He is typically a good eater, but some items are a big no-go, so I have to be careful not to make onions, mushrooms, or crazy vegetables the star of dinner.

As you may have noticed if you’ve read the blog for some time, I’m quite the seafood chick. I always feel like fish or mariscos (what’s the word for mariscos in English?? Is shellfish correct to use in this case?? Shrimp, scallops etc? Let’s stick with mariscos). Especially in summer months. Tonight was no different, so I made some spiced up shrimp and served it over a salad of avocado, corn, black beans and tomatoes, and a side of wild rice. Here is how the dinner came together.

Spicy Shrimp and Avocado, Corn, Black Bean Salad

Ingredients

1 can of corn – no salt added

1 can of black beans

1 large tomato, diced

2 avocados, diced

1 – 1 1/2 pounds shrimp

3 cloves garlic, chopped

juice from 1 lime

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp paprika

1 tbsp cumin

1 tbsp chile powder

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Drain and rinse corn and black beans and combine them in a large bowl. Add diced tomatoes and avocado to bowl. Season with salt and pepper and store in the refrigerator.

Pour lime juice, olive oil, garlic, paprika, cumin, chile powder in a bowl and stir. Add shrimp and stir to coat all shrimp. Marinate for 15-30 minutes.

Turn on grill, and cook shrimp in a grill pan over high heat, until shrimp are cooked through.

Place grilled shrimp atop the avocado, black bean, corn and tomatoes. Serve alongside quinoa, couscous, or rice.

image-287

image-290

image-286

Tonight is my last exam of graduate school and marks the end of my academic career! I can’t wait to circle my last answer and hand that test in and run out of the door!

One thought on “The Secret + Spicy Shrimp with Avocado, Black Bean and Corn Salad

  1. Pingback: Seven Ways To Make September Sensational | eatsandfastfeets

Leave a Reply

