Photo Share 8/19 + Weekend Re-cap

I’m slowly descending from cloud 9 back to reality today, so please excuse if my post seems over-elated. I had the most amazing weekend in Miami with Justin Timberlake and Jay-Z this weekend. Derek, Megan and Ben were there too, and the 6 of us all had a great time together.

image-307The group (minus JT and Jay-Z, who hung out with us casually on Friday Night)

image-310Concert Time!

Okay, obviously I’m being ridiculous and JT and Jay-Z didn’t hang with us, but they did serenade us all night long and that’s good enough for me! The final stop of Justin And Jay-Z’s Legends of The Summer tour was in Miami on Friday, and the 4 of us planned our trip down a couple of months ago. The concert seriously blew my mind, and we all agreed it was by far the best concert we’d ever been to.

One of our best friends from college, Yani, lives in Miami, and was also going to the concert, so we met up for some delicious Mexican food at Cancun Grill before the concert. image-308We were all too excited to even care about what we ate, but at least 10 baskets of those chips were consumed, probably all in nervous anticipation.

Some of my favorite songs from the show were… wait, basically all of them. So here was the set list:

Holy Grail  (JAY Z)
Rock Your Body (Justin Timberlake)
I Just Wanna Love U (Give It 2 Me)  (JAY Z)
I Want You Back (The Jackson 5 cover)
Izzo (H.O.V.A.) (JAY Z)
Excuse Me Miss (JAY Z)
Señorita (Justin Timberlake)
On to the Next One (JAY Z)
Like I Love You (Justin Timberlake)
My Love (Justin Timberlake)
Big Pimpin’ (JAY Z)
Tunnel Vision (Justin Timberlake)
Jigga What, Jigga Who (JAY Z)
U Don’t Know (JAY Z)
99 Problems (JAY Z)
F***withmeyouknowigotit (JAY Z)
Public Service Announcement (JAY Z)
Hard Knock Life (Ghetto Anthem) (JAY Z)
Heart of the City (Ain’t No Love) (JAY Z)
Pusher Love Girl (Justin Timberlake)
Summer Love (Justin Timberlake)
LoveStoned (Justin Timberlake)
Until the End of Time (Justin Timberlake)
Cry Me a River (Justin Timberlake)
Take Back the Night (Justin Timberlake)
What Goes Around… Comes Around (Justin Timberlake)
Dirt Off Your Shoulder (JAY Z)
N***s in Paris (Jay-Z & Kanye West)
Tom Ford (JAY Z)
New York, New York (Liza Minnelli cover)
Empire State of Mind (JAY Z)
Mirrors (Justin Timberlake)
Run This Town (JAY Z)
SexyBack (Justin Timberlake)
Encore (JAY Z)
Encore:
Suit & Tie (Justin Timberlake)
SexyBack (Justin Timberlake)
Young Forever (JAY Z)

… The bolded ones have been on my running playlist for quite some time now. Jay-Z is really the only rapper I like, and JT is my favorite artist hands down. These songs really pump me up and keep me going through the last miles of my hard runs. I recommend everyone listen to all of them, especially the throwbacks, because you will remember how much you love them!

On Saturday morning, after the best night of our lives, Derek and I got up and went for a 35 minute jog around the downtown area near our hotel. We tried to get into the AA Arena (where the Miami Heat play) but were unsuccessful. They lock that place tight. After returning to the hotel and getting ready for the day, Megan, Ben, Derek and I headed out to Miami Beach for lunch and shopping.

Lunch was recommended to us by Yani, and it was a-maze-ing. The restaurant was called Yardbird Southern Table & Bar, and offered some of the best food I’ve had in quite some time. I enjoyed a delicious chargrilled mango salad, and Derek ordered the omelet of the day, which had the tastiest rib meat.

image-298

image-299

image-302

image-303

image-300

We walked off our enormous brunch by shopping all around Collins Ave., Washington Ave. and Lincoln Ave.

Thank God we walked it off, because a couple of hours later we were back at it at dinner with our friend Yani. The restaurant she took us to was in the Midtown area, and was called Sugarcane. It was delicious and the decor was just as intriguing as Yardbird. Sugarcane is a tapas-style restaurant, so the 5 of us all picked out a couple of small plates and shared them all (along with a large pitcher of red sangria, of course).

image-296

image-297Sugarcane in Miami

image-295Happy Hour at the Intercontinental Hotel

And how could we leave Miami without some authentic Cuban food? Answer: we couldn’t. We stopped on the way out a local restaurant, Latin Cafe, for some last minute eats. photo-139

It’s always a bummer when vacation comes to an end, but luckily for me I’m on staycation for the next month. I plan to try out some new fun recipes, and hopefully re-do some furniture in my time off.

Any recipe suggestions?

Leave a Reply

