Songs to Run to + Italian Chicken and Vegetable Stirfry

Hey there, people! Happy Tuesday! Isn’t it a great feeling that Monday is over? It always feels great to get Monday behind us. My Monday was better than most of my typical Mondays (how many times am I going to say the word Monday??), especially because it started by watching the entire Today show on the couch. What better way is there to start a stay cation?

After wasting away the morning, I decided it was time to get moving on a run. At this point it was scorching outside, so my run was a treadmill run (snoresville). I didn’t feel like checking the clock on that thing in order to track my intervals, so I did by intervals based on what was playing on my iPod, changing speed for each song. Here is what the run ended up looking like:

wheatgrass-shoes

It’s pretty obvious I’m still hanging on pretty tightly to the concert from last weekend. Not sure that I’ll ever let go. After my run, I did some core work which included bicycle crunches, backward crunches, planks, side plans and push ups.

The rest of my day was spent running errands and lounging by the pool until everyone else in the world finished work and I could have a friend to hang out with. I can always count on Derek to be that friend – we walked to the tennis courts when he got home from work, and were able to play for a whole 10 minutes before Tampa demonstrated its worthiness as lightning capital of the world. We hightailed it home and just barely outran a mild hurricane. But don’t worry, we went back to finish our match later in the evening when the hurricane subsided.

image_2

This is obviously pre-hurricane

Today I’m going to share with you the dinner I made on Sunday night. You’ll have to wait ’till another day to see Monday’s dinner because I’m suspenseful that way. On Sunday when I got home I really didn’t feel like heading to the grocery store, so I used what we already had in the fridge and prepared an Italian Chicken + Veggie Stirfry. I served it with a simple salad that was too boring to make the pic.

image-315

Ingredients

2 lean chicken breasts

1/2 large red onion, diced

1 large tomato, diced

2 zucchini, diced

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 tbsp rosemary

1 tbsp oregano

2 garlic cloves, chopped

salt and pepper

brown rice or quinoa, cooked according to package directions

Directions

Cut raw chicken breasts into 1/2 inch cubes. Put chicken cubes into a large bowl, and sprinkle oregano and rosemary, salt and pepper over chicken. Set aside.

Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium to high heat. Add zucchini and onion, and cook about for about 10 minutes. Add tomatoes and reduce heat to low and cook for 3 minutes. Remove vegetables from skillet and set aside on a plate (covered). In the same skillet, add in chicken and chopped garlic and cook over medium-high heat for 12-15 minutes (or until cooked completely through).

photo-140

This dinner was fairly simple to make, which was exactly what I was going for after a vacation weekend! Today I have some errands to run, hope to go to a workout class with a friend in the afternoon, and am thrilled to go to dinner with 4 sorority sisters tonight!

Question

What are your favorite songs to work out to? 

One thought on “Songs to Run to + Italian Chicken and Vegetable Stirfry

  1. Pingback: Seven Ways To Make September Sensational | eatsandfastfeets

Leave a Reply

