Farmer’s Market + Chicken Chop Chop Salad

Please don’t tell Publix about this post, but I went to the Farmer’s Market on Monday and I think I’m breaking up with Publix’s produce department. photo

image-5

image-7

I have passed this farmer’s market for years, and never think to stop by. But I was’t feeling the grocery store business, mainly because I didn’t want to have to make 2 left hand turns in and out of the place. That isn’t pathetic, right?

Well I’m so glad I stopped by this local market, because the produce was gorgeous and incredibly inexpensive. I purchased a large red onion, yellow tomato, lime, head of lettuce, avocado, red pepper all for $5. I couldn’t believe it. When I arrived home, I had to prepare a meal with all of these delicious veggies immediately, and a chop chop salad sounded perfect.

image_4

Chicken Chop Chop Salad

1 large yellow tomato, diced

1 red pepper, diced

1 haas avocado, diced

1/2 red onion, diced

1/2 head of lettuce, shredded

2 large chicken breasts, baked or grilled, diced

1/2 lime

1 T Oregano

Salt and Pepper

Directions

Preheat oven to 400°. Squeeze juice from 1/2 of the lime over both sides of chicken. Sprinkle salt, pepper, and oregano over chicken and bake in oven for 35 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through completely (no longer pink inside).

While chicken is cooking, dice onion, tomato, pepper and avocado and place in a large serving bowl over shredded lettuce. When chicken is cooked through, cut into small pieces, and toss into salad. Pour Honey Lime dressing (recipe below) over salad and serve.

Honey Lime Dressing

4 T Rice Wine Vinegar

4 T Water

2 T Olive Oil

2 T honey

1 packet stevia in the raw

Juice from 1/2 lime

2 T water

Salt and Pepper

Directions

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and whisk vigorously until incorporated. Store in airtight container in refrigerator.

image-3

image-4

It was such a fresh and refreshing summer meal and I know I’ll turn to it again. I also plan to make it with fall vegetables in chillier months (and by chillier, I mean 70s in Tampa). Bacon vinaigrette , anyone?

Leave a Reply

