Cedar Plank Heaven

Did I say heaven?? I meant salmon. Slip of the tongue! Wednesday night for dinner I cooked salmon over a cedar plank for the first time, and it most definitely will not be the last. I’m still over here day dreaming about that smell….. But before I share that recipe, I know you guys are dying to hear about my day. Breakfast started out with a plate of cheesy eggs and hot salsa, just the way vacation days should start.

image-317

After I let breakfast settle, I drove over to the gym and jogged for 15 minutes to warm up before going to the cycling room for a new-to-me cycling class. Naturally, I needed help setting up my bike, and the instructor noticed immediately and came over to help. Can’t reach the pedals = no bueno. As soon as the class started, I knew it was going to be a toughie, but I knew I was going to love it. The music was mostly 80s throw backs, and all of the songs kept me pumped up. The class was wonderful and I didn’t even have to wait ’till the following day to be sore! I was sore immediately!

photo-143

Lunch time rolled around and I was so excited because I had a lunch date planned with my sweet grandparents. They are as precious as precious can be, and we very much enjoyed our lunch at Pane Rustica. I especially enjoyed my massive salad, which was topped with roasted zucchini, eggplant, peppers, fresh mozzarella, and various fresh fruit. It held me over ALL.DAY.LONG. Eureka!

image-316

I ran some errands and relaxed for the rest of the afternoon until it was time to start preparing dinner. Now here comes the good stuff, the cedar-y sweet goodness that I promised. Like I mentioned, this was my first time grilling anything on planks, but I knew I wanted to try it out a few weeks ago when Derek’s mom made the most delicious salmon I’ve ever eaten on cedar planks. I purchased planks several months back and never used them, but Wednesday night was the night!

Cedar Plank Salmon

1 1/2 pound fresh salmon

1 T thyme

1 T cumin

1 T garlic powder

1 T brown sugar

2 lemons

1/4 cup vegetable oil

2 cedar planks, soaked in water at least 2 hours (I soaked mine in the kitchen sink)

Directions

Cut salmon into 4 fillets and set aside. Cut both lemons in half, and set one half aside. Cut the other 3 halves into slices to place on top of the cedar planks, under the salmon. Squeeze the juice from the remaining half into a bowl, and add vegetable oil to the lemon juice. Whisk together. Place salmon fillets atop the lemon slices on the cedar planks.

In a small bowl, mix garlic powder, thyme, cumin and brown sugar. Rub spice mixture over salmon, and cook over medium-high heat on a grill for 30-40 minutes, or until flaky and cooked through.

photo-144

image-321I served the cedar salmon with green beans that I blanched and sauteed in olive oil and garlic.

image-320I think I will have serious trouble going back to regular ole grilled salmon anytime soon. The thought is horrifying.

Anyone else ever grill over planks before?

One thought on “Cedar Plank Heaven

Leave a Reply

