Feelin’ Cajun – My First Shrimp Boil

Three weeks ago my heart was shattered in a billion pieces because Derek’s family had a shrimp boil for Sunday night dinner, and I couldn’t make it over for the big meal. I’d never experienced the finger lickin’ delight of a such an event, and it seemed as if I was a day late and a dollar short on this one. But, being the kind folk that they are, Derek’s parents said that we could do it again – and we did it last night! The whole process seemed fairly simple for such a delicious end result, which makes it even more reason to make shrimp boils more regular in our lives!

photo (33)

Since I didn’t do the cooking, I’m not positive on the specifics of the recipe, but from what I gathered it went a bit like this:

Ingredients

3 1/3 pounds shrimp

Corn

Potatoes, quartered

Onion

2 Lemons, quartered

1 bag of Zataran’s shrimp boil seasoning

1 1/2 – 2 tsp cayenne pepper

Directions

Cover your dining or kitchen table in newspaper – this helps for clean up and makes you look more like a professional.

Bring a large pot of water to a boil, and add in corn, potatoes, onion, lemon, cayenne and seasoning.  Cook for about 10 minutes. Add in shrimp, and continue to cook until shrimp turn pink and rise to the top. Drain immediately and pour onto your table. DO NOT USE PLATES OR FORKS OR YOU WILL BE ASKED TO LEAVE THE PARTY.

Serve with butter and enjoy 🙂

image (59)

image (61)

I most certainly enjoyed my first shrimp boil experience, and plan to give it a go at my own house very soon!

Rewinding backwards in the day, I was lucky to meet a new pup, Sebastian, and his sweet owner, who heard of my superb dog sitting skills 😉 Sometimes I find myself day-dreaming about being a dog sitter professionally, for life. Can you think of a better job? Sebastian is a 12 year old Sheltie and I think we will become fast friends!

Before my very important meeting with Sebastian, came my very important lunch with 2 friends – Wendy and Jourdan. Whenever we get together, we always talk about really serious things, like Wendy’s recent encounter and victory over a dragonfly at work. We also ate food, and I had this delicious salad from Wright’s:

image (62)

AND BEFORE THAT, was my workout. For Tuesday’s workout, I ran 10 miles at a 6 minute pace, and followed it with 2,000 crunches and 1,500 push ups. It was really easy and I need to learn to push myself harder.

But seriously, I ran 3.5 miles and then just played with Louie.

Today I’m looking forward to taking a Pure Barre class this morning, taking over payment and title to my car from my dad (yay, bills!), and watching my nephew, Parker this afternoon and evening!

Anyone have fun hump day plans?! Happy Wednesday, friends!

3 thoughts on “Feelin’ Cajun – My First Shrimp Boil

  1. Zatarain’s certainly isn’t enough and one lemon is weak! 4 lemons, Zatarain’s, extra 2 tsp cayenne, 1 tbsp garlic powder, 1 tbsp onion, 2 tsp salt

    • Ash,
      Thanks for your suggestions! As I mentioned, I didn’t make the shrimp, so I was unsure of the details to the recipe. Now that you mention it, cayenne pepper was definitely in the equation! Thanks for the reminder 🙂

  2. Pingback: A Hungry Girl’s Favorite Week + Photo Share 11/25 | eatsandfastfeets

Leave a Reply

