Blackened Tilapia with Cilantro Aioli + Mango Salsa, and My Envy-Worthy Plans

Can I please start this post off with the cutest picture ever?

photo

One of my best friends, Alissa, got this adorable letterman jacket for Louie, and I just can’t stand how freaking cute it is. Louie walks a little more bow-legged, but I think it’s his way of telling us just how much he loves it. He is such a Nole it hurts.

Moving on.. I started my morning in a Pure Barre class with Megan. My legs were shaking extra hard this morning, so I know the class was working. By the time the class ended, I felt like I was ready to audition for ABC (American Ballet Company, for those of you who don’t know. Actually, I only know about ABC from the movie Center Stage, so I don’t even know if it really exists), or So You Think You Can Dance, whichever is more exclusive.

I love the high-energy that I always get from the Pure Barre instructors, and feel that they pack the most they can into a one hour class.

I also spent about an hour waiting at the DMV, to get up to the window and be told we didn’t have the correct paperwork. I love bureaucracy! Luckily,this was the most annoying part of my day, and if that’s the most I can complain about, I feel like it was a good day!

I read by the pool with Louie in the afternoon.. Life is hard these days. For both of us.

image

Remember when I said earlier that the DMV was the most annoying part of my day? I take it back. The most annoying part of my day happened at Publix, because I can never learn from my mistakes.

image_1

When will I understand that I need to choose the grocery cart over the grocery basket? This happens. EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. I still had to pick up 4 items after this picture was snapped – you can imagine how ridiculous I looked walking with a cereal box between my legs.

And finally I came home and prepared dinner for the family. This is probably one of my favorite seafood dishes I’ve created in a while, and I think my favorite part of it was the cilantro aioli.

image_3

Blackened Fish Tacos with Cilantro Aioli + Mango Salsa

1 1/2 lbs Tilapia or Catfish

2 Tbsp cumin

2 Tbsp paprika

1 Tbsp pepper

1/2 tbsp garlic powder

Juice from 1 Lime

1/3 of a red onion, sliced

Shredded lettuce

1/2 tbsp olive oil

flour or corn tortillas

Directions

Lay fish on a large tray and squeeze lime juice over both sides of fish. In a small bowl, mix all spices, and evenly distribute spices over both sides of fish. Heat olive oil in a deep frying pan, and saute onions for about 10 minutes. Remove onions from pan and set aside. Add fish to the pan, and pan sear fish for about 4-5 minutes per side. Serve atop lettuce, onion, and tortilla, with Mango Salsa and/or Cilantro Aioli (below)

Cilantro Aioli (Healthy Version)

1 cup fresh cilantro

1 single serving container of fat free plain greek yogurt

juice from 1/2 lemon

1 tsp cumin

2 tbsp fat free mayo

1 garlic clove

Directions

Place all ingredients in a food processor and chop until smooth and creamy.

image_2

image_4

The tangy flavor from the cilantro aioli that came from the greek yogurt really made this dish taste almost refreshing. I’ll be making this again, for sure!

I can’t believe it’s almost the weekend – where has the time gone?! I have a dentist and DMV appointment on my agenda today. It’s natural to feel jealous 😉

6 thoughts on “Blackened Tilapia with Cilantro Aioli + Mango Salsa, and My Envy-Worthy Plans

  1. Looks great! A couple suggestions: dicing the red onion may be a better option, better mouth feel than a large slice. Second, it’s not really an aioli if it’s fat free :). Using olive oil combined with an egg instead of mayo/yogurt is more tasty and just as healthy!

    • Thanks again for your suggestions, maybe I’ll try my aioli that way next time 🙂 We are onion lovers over here, so we love our sliced onions sauteed and served atop almost anything 🙂

  2. Yum!! This sounds so delicious! I will definitely give it a try! I’m a huge fan of fish tacos 🙂 Also, I love the grocery basket situation. I used to do the same thing and finally started getting the little carts (most of the time… sometimes I still underestimate how much I need)!

  3. Pingback: Tilapia Piccata + The Time I Brushed His Teeth | eatsandfastfeets

  4. Pingback: Here Goes Nothin’! | eatsandfastfeets

  5. Pingback: Top 13 Recipes of 2013 | eatsandfastfeets

Leave a Reply

