What Half Marathon Should I Run? + Spaghetti Squash Recipe

Happy Friday, everyone! The weekend is finally upon us! I’m so excited for this holiday weekend, because I’m sitting my favorite pups, and I have family coming in town! Doesn’t get better than that. But before I get ahead of myself and talk about the weekend, I have to tell you all about my day yesterday, because I know you’re dying to know 😉

My morning started off with a 5+ mile run. I didn’t really want to run intervals or put a lot of effort into tracking my pace, so I just made sure to run each mile a bit faster than the last. My first mile was around 9:30, second 8:50, 3rd 8:35, 4th 8:28, 5th 8:25. I finished with a 5 minute walking cool down.

It’s been at least a week since I’ve run 5 miles, so it felt like the right time to get this run in. I’m starting half-marathon training for a race in November. I haven’t yet decided which one – there is a race the weekend before Thanksgiving here in the Tampa Bay Area, but it’s a Women’s Race, and Derek wanted to run too. So we’re working on finding one!

After my run, I was off to the dreaded dentist. It wasn’t nearly as dreaded as I imagined – they gave me headphones and let me listen to Justin Timberlake Pandora as they drilled away. All I got through was “Suit and Tie” and half of “Stronger” by Kanye West, and they were done! I was kind of bummed because I wanted more JT.

They also gave me a blanket.. Pretty sweet, eh?

image

I made the mistake of not eating before the appointment, and had quite the laugh at myself when I tried to eat almonds an hour after leaving the dentist. The novocaine was in full force, and I couldn’t feel and/or swallow the almond. So I fulfilled a 3rd grade longing that I never had, and had an applesauce to go

photo

Next it was time to treat myself. My mom gave me several gift cards for my birthday (back in February), and I have yet to use several of them. One of the cards I still had was a gift card for a massage. I’d been waiting until I didn’t have a CPA exam in my way to use it, because I knew I’d be laying on the table thinking about studying otherwise.

So yesterday afternoon I finally used my gift card for a 1 hour relaxation/deep tissue massage and it was glorious. At least I think it was, I was in and out of consciousness, so who knows?

Dinner Time!

It’s been over a year since I’ve made spaghetti squash, and almost 24 years since Derek has eaten it. Last weekend at the farmer’s market, a spaghetti squash was amongst the goodies I returned home with, and last night was the time to make it. Here is how our dinner came together:

Spaghetti Squash with Roasted Tomatoes

1 Large spaghetti squash

2 tbsp olive oil

salt and pepper

2 cups grape tomatoes

1 tbsp oregano

1/2 tbsp garlic powder

1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese

Directions

Preheat oven to 400°. Cut spaghetti squash length-wise and remove seeds from inside. Drizzle 1 1/2 tbsp olive oil, salt and pepper on both inner halves of squash, and place face down on a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil. photo

In a separate bowl, toss grape tomatoes with 1/2 tbsp olive oil, salt, pepper, and oregano. Place tomatoes on a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil.

photo

Set oven timer for 40 minutes, and place spaghetti squash in oven. After 20 minutes have passed, add tomatoes to the oven and cook for 20 more minutes.

Remove squash and tomatoes from oven. With a fork, remove the noodle-like insides of the squash and put on dinner plates. Top with roasted tomatoes and cheese.

image

image_4

We topped ours with some simple baked chicken (seasoned with salt and pepper and baked at 350 for 25 minutes), and a basil pesto I made earlier this week.

I love that spaghetti squash has the consistency of spaghetti noodles, but a fraction of the carbs and calories. It also has a bit of a veggie taste to it, so it feels like I’m eating nutritiously!

If anyone has tips for good half-marathons to run, I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

