Italian Frittata + An Overdue Reunion

Weekends call for something special for breakfast, right? Why settle for a basic bowl of generic Raisin Bran when you have time to get fancy shmancy? This Saturday, as we were getting ready to kick off the 2013 college football season by watching College Gameday, I decided I wanted to make something different for our morning meal. I checked the fridge and, based on what we had on hand, came up with this recipe for an Italian Frittata:

Italian Frittata

6 eggs or egg whites

1 tsp olive oil

1/2 of a red pepper, chopped

1/2 cup of fresh spinach, chopped

1/2 of a red onion, chopped

1/3 cup part skim mozzarella

fresh garlic or garlic powder

Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions

Preheat oven to “broil” setting. Combine eggs or egg whites in a large bowl and beat. Add cheese to mixture, and whisk until combined. In a large oven-safe frying pan, heat olive oil and cook onion and pepper for 5 minutes. Add egg mixture and spinach to frying pan, and sprinkle with garlic and salt and pepper. Let stand on stovetop until the bottom is completely settled, and top is almost settled. Remove from stove and place in oven until golden, about 7-9 minutes.

image_4

image_5

It hit the spot and made the day feel a little more weekend-like. The good thing about this frittata is that you can store and reheat and eat leftover slices the next day. Hello Sunday Breakfast!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

While I REALLY enjoyed eating this frittata on Saturday morning, I didn’t enjoy it nearly as much as I enjoyed breakfast on Monday. One of my best friends from college, who also happens to be a part of our wedding party, moved to Virginia after graduation in 2012 to work at the National Headquarters for his fraternity. Dan and I met as sophomores at FSU, when we realized, by chance, we were in all of each others classes one semester. From then on, we took every other class until graduation together (on purpose), and he’s remained one of my closest friends.

After seeing Dan almost every day for 3 years, I couldn’t believe that we had gone almost 16 months without seeing each other. This weekend, when Dan came to visit his family in Orlando, we were able to make time to meet half way for breakfast at Chick Fil A. Since it was the last day of the weekend, it sort of felt like Sunday, which basically means that Chick Fil A opened up for us on a Sunday. How nice of them 🙂

image_1

Hanging with Dan was really so special to me, and I hope to never go that long without seeing him, or any dear friend, ever again! (Also, note my gameday shirt. I’m thinking it was good luck, because FSU won 41-13 against Pitt last night).

In other news, remember when I told you all I was gym shopping? Well, I took the plunge and joined a gym! I’m really excited with my decision, as it’s given me the opportunity to vary my fitness routine and take so many classes that I would otherwise be unable to take. This weekend I’ve been able to take a cycling class, a CX WORX class, and I even accidentally took a boot camp class. I’m hoping that working out in new ways will help me become a better runner, and make me stronger for the half-marathon I plan to run before the end of 2013!

Now I am off to take a class at the gym, run some errands and attend a meeting. Yes, I know how lucky I am to have a couple more weeks of a schedule so easy. Real life will soon be knocking at my door!

Leave a Reply

