Happy 6 Year Dating Anniversary to Us! + Minestrone Alla Mally

Today is a super-exciting day in my neck of the woods because it marks 6 years since Derek and I started dating. I hate to get all sappy on you guys, but I’m so excited to have spent 6 years with my best friend, and can’t wait to spend the rest of my life with him!

In honor of today, I’ll share some cute/comical pictures of us from high school and on, that you’re sure to love or at least get a good laugh from. 181_1006549839776_5426_n

181_1006716523943_1009_n-1

181_1006514358889_5102_n

17039_1218092368207_3320542_nSome oldies but goodies – hope you enjoyed a laugh at our expense!

My hump day was pretty all over the place. I began the day with my furniture renovation project. In a random closet in our house has been living a shabby chic dresser from my mom’s teenage bedroom set. It was a little out-dated (white paint faded to a yuck yellow), but had good bones and I wanted to give it new life. With the help of some Annie Sloan chalk paint in Paris Grey, I transformed it!

image_2After finishing up on the dresser, I headed to the gym for a 3 miler at an easy pace and a Bodypump class. The class was harder than usual for me, and I’m thinking I overestimated my strength when picking my weights. Or the instructor was just taking things to another level. No one will ever know.

In the afternoon I ran some errands and picked up my nephew from school. Louie came too. He couldn’t contain himself. image

And for dinner we had leftover minestrone soup from the night before, along with a quesadilla I made by spreading a laughing cow cheese on one tortilla, topping it with grilled chicken, tomatoes , feta cheese and another tortilla, and cooking it in a frying pan. My minestrone recipe wasn’t as simple as the quesadilla, so I’ll refrain from describing it in one run-onn sentence.

Minestrone Alla Mally

Ingredients

4 cups vegetable or chicken broth

1 cup water

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1/2 red onion, chopped

1 28-oz can crushed tomatoes (no salt added)

1 14-oz can diced tomatoes (no salt added)

1 cup ditalini pasta (or other small noodle)

1 14-oz can kidney beans

1/3 lb green beans, ends removed

1 celery stalk, diced

1/2 cup diced carrots

2 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp oregano

2 tsp pepper

Directions

Heat olive oil in a deep pot, and toss in red onion and cook for about 5 minutes over medium heat. Next add in garlic, and cook for 30 seconds. Next add celery, carrots, green beans, and spices, and cook for 10 minutes. Now add in canned tomatoes (both crushed and diced) and chicken broth, and increase heat until soup begins to boil. Once soup boils, reduce heat to low and let soup simmer for 10 minutes. Add in kidney beans, and uncooked pasta, and cook until all vegetables are cooked and pasta is al dente. Serve in bowls with fresh basil and parmesan cheese, or freeze in a sealed container.

image_1

image

image_3

photo-156

I hope you all have the loveliest day – make it a happy and healthy one! God Bless 🙂

One thought on “Happy 6 Year Dating Anniversary to Us! + Minestrone Alla Mally

  1. Pingback: Top 13 Recipes of 2013 | eatsandfastfeets

Leave a Reply

