Tilapia Piccata + The Time I Brushed His Teeth

Hi people! Well Monday is behind us now  – that was virtually painless, right? My Monday started off slowly. I think the hustle and bustle of the weekend caught up to me and I was in no rush to get to the gym in the morning. By the time I ran a few errands and finally got to the gym, it was close to noon and the start of a cycling class. I hopped on the treadmill to warm up for 15 minutes, and then joined the group cycling class. The instructor is one of my favorites, and always manages to pick the GREATEST songs to cycle to. My favorite today? Barbie Girl by Aqua. Talk about a blast from the past.

I was super lucky today because Derek worked downtown and we were able to have lunch together. We headed to the hot bar at our local Publix Greenwise – he got a huge Pub Sub and I made the weirdest salad ever. While I am typically a HUGE Publix fan, their hot bar has nothing on Whole Food’s hot bar. Not even close.

image

photo

But the strangest activity of the day included a small chorkie and a tooth brush. After a slight run-in with a much bigger dog who was hoping to make Louie his dinner this weekend, I’ve been giving Lou lots of love and attention. This love and attention included getting far too close to his mouth, and smelling his, pardon my language, stank breath. I Googled “why does my chorkie have bad breath”, and found out that I should be brushing his teeth. My parents and Derek laughed at me, but I proceeded with the task and got Louie some necessary tools and went to town on his little teeth. And by went to town, I mean tried to brush them for 10 seconds before he started freaking out.

photo

image

image_1

He received a Snausage after so hopefully he will be more willing next time I try to brush his lil’ teef.

For dinner Monday night, we were feeling fish. What’s new? I purchased tilapia, but later decided I wanted more flavor than tilapia usually provides. To solve this mortal dilemma, I added capers to the equation and made a tilapia piccata dish.

Tilapia Piccata

1 1/2 lb Tilapia

2 tbsp capers

1/2 red onion, chopped

juice from 1 lemon

1/2 cup white wine or white cooking wine

2 tbsp parsley flakes

Seasoning for tilapia (I used a greek seasoning + pepper)

2 tbsp butter

Directions

Pour half of the lemon juice on both sides of the tilapia and top fish with seasoning and parsley on both sides. In a large saute pan, warm butter over medium-high heat and cook tilapia filets for 3 minutes (turning fish over at half way point). When fish is cooked through and flaky, remove from pan and set aside. Add capers, onions, 1 tbsp butter, remaining lemon juice and white wine to pan and cook for 1 minute. Pour sauce over tilapia and serve immediately.

photo

image

image_1

I served our tilapia alongside a green bean and tomato bake and risotto. The piccata sauce packed a powerful punch, that I will attribute to the delicious little capers.

Today I plan to volunteer at one of the local elementary schools that my mom works with, and hopefully attend a fitness class. Happy Tuesday, y’all! Keep Smiling 🙂

2 thoughts on “Tilapia Piccata + The Time I Brushed His Teeth

  1. Pingback: Here Goes Nothin’! | eatsandfastfeets

Leave a Reply

