Super Nutty Granola

My day on Wednesday, aside from a 2 mile run and a Bodypump class, was pretty relaxed, as I spent the majority of it reading and cooking.  I also stopped at a local culinary shop, The Rolling Pin, to browse through the supplies and sample all the free goodies.

photo

The Rolling Pin has a huge gourmet kitchen where they offer various cooking courses, and I’ve been dying to try one out. Hopefully I will get around to it one day! image

I know I’ve mentioned before how big of a snacker I am, especially when it comes to nuts, cereals, and other foods that squirrels like. I’ve shared a couple of granola recipes with you before, but I think this is my favorite!

image_2

Super Nutty Granola

Ingredients

4 cups old fashioned oats

1/2 cup chopped almonds

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1/2 cup chopped peanuts

1 cup shredded unsweetened coconut

1/2 cup canola oil

1/2 cup sugar free syrup

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup creamy or crunchy peanut butter ( or any nut butter)

1 tbsp cinnamon

Directions

Preheat your oven to 250°. Combine oats, peanuts, almonds, walnuts, coconut, cinnamon in a large bowl. Mix to ensure an even distribution of the ingredients. In a different bowl, combine canola oil, maple syrup,  and honey. Add the syrup mixture to the dry mixture. Finally, add peanut butter (in different spots, preferably), and stir. Spread out on a baking sheet and bake for 1 hour and 20 minutes, stirring every 20 minutes for even color. Remove from oven and enjoy. Of course, you can add raisins and chocolate chips here if you please ( I always do)!

image_5

Granola goes great on top of ice cream 😉

photo-160

Happy Thursday, Y’all!

Leave a Reply

