Candy Corn, Fall’s Official Cue

First and foremost. this happened. Candy corn at my favorite froyo shop.

candy corn

Yogurtology was not on the agenda for after dinner last night, but as soon as our friend Ben mentioned there were coffee and pumpkin spice flavors, we literally dropped what we were doing and just walked out the door. Such a good decision. And while I thought there were no toppings  that could make these flavors better, I was quickly proven wrong, as I found candy corn at the topping bar. Happy Fall to us!

Now that I’ve got that off my chest, let’s talk about breakfast. In proper fall fashion, I had a bowl of apple walnut cinnamon oats for breakfast that were DEEELISH. They came together a bit like this.

1/2 cup old fashioned oats

1/2 of a red apple, diced

1/4 cup walnuts

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1 packet of stevia sweetener

1 cup water

Pour all ingredients into a microwave safe bowl, and microwave for 2 1/2 to 3 minutes. Viola!

oats

I topped my oats with some chia seeds for a little extra boost! The rest of my day was spent packing and reading. I’m almost done with Michael Lewis’,  The Big Short. You may be familiar with Michael Lewis’ name, as he is the author behind The Blind Side and Moneyball, both wonderful books turned into wonderful movies. The Big Short is a little less mainstream than his other bestsellers, as it is geared to those who are either in the financial sector, or just enjoy reading about short selling insurance on subprime mortgages. Riveting, right? Well the nerd in me is really enjoying it, and I hope to finish it in time today to pick up another book before my trip tomorrow.

I did manage to get a quick workout in, and it went a little like this:

Boredom Buster

I wanted a quick and diverse workout that included running, and my half marathon training schedule called for cross training. Weights sometimes bore me, so I switched it up by hopping on and off of the treadmill to complete a few circuits. The time flew by!

And I think I’ve mentioned how glad I am that I joined my new gym, right? Upon joining, they gave me a gift card for a free massage, and I took full advantage of that yesterday. It was a relaxation massage that ended with the massage therapist spending 10+ minutes on my feet. It was paradise.

And finally, for dinner, we headed over to Derek’s parents’ home for his mom’s delicious fish tacos. photo (38)

The picture is not nearly as colorful as the pico de gallo really was. Gosh do I love this meal!

Today I am tying up some loose ends before I head out of town for the rest of September. I’ll be posting as regularly as possible while I’m away, and hope to surprise you guys with a couple of guest posts. 🙂

Happy Tuesday, friends!

One thought on “Candy Corn, Fall’s Official Cue

  1. Pingback: Back to Bodypump + Healthier “Bang Bang” Shrimp | eatsandfastfeets

Leave a Reply

