Pig Pickin’ Cake

Hi, friends! The highlights of the last couple of days have definitely been food-related. One of my favorite parts of trainings is that they feed us very well! Besides from feeding us top notch lunches (yesterday was Moe’s galore) we are able to choose basically wherever we want to go for dinner. Wednesday and Thursday we picked two pretty similar places: Mellow Mushroom and Morton’s Steakhouse. Ha.

On the workout front, I took Wednesday off, aside from 25 minutes of stretch-yoga before the work day started. Yesterday I was able to run 3.5 miles at an 8:40 pace, followed by 10 minutes of planks/pushups/ab work. I plan to post next week on exercising while traveling 🙂 Here is proof of planks. I’m crazy.

image
But most importantly, I have some sweet stuff to share with you! A while back I shared with you all a recipe for one of my favorite family cakes – the Butternut cake. I love the Butternut cake mostly for its frosting – it’s that kind of frosting that is so decadent and rich that the sides of your mouth start to tingle before the first bite.

Unlike the richness of the butternut cake, this other family recipe, fondly known as “The Pig Pickin’ Cake” (because it’s served at our family pig pickin’ reunion in North Carolina – not because there are any pigs in the cake), is just as sweet, but a little less decadent. I made the cake for my Abuela’s birthday a couple of weeks ago, and she declared it her favorite cake yet (she says that a lot though).

For the cake:

1 box of yellow cake mix

1 small can of mandarin orange slices (no sugar added)

1/2 cup canola oil

3 egg whites (I use egg beaters)

Directions

Mix the above ingredients together well and bake cake as directed on box in two 9″ layer cake pans or one 9″ by 13″ pan.

For the frosting:

1 large container of lite Cool Whip

1 large can no sugar added crushed pineapple (leave the juice)

1 small box vanilla instant pudding (do not make – just use dry pudding)

Directions:

Drain pineapple and pour juice over cake. Mix Cool Whip, pineapple, and dry pudding mix together. When cake cools, frost cake.

image_2

Sorry I don’t have a good picture of the finished cake, it was eaten far too quickly. But I think this picture is proof that people were excited about it: photo (1)

Hope y’all have a fabulous Friday!

Leave a Reply

